We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Big Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Clean lobby and rooms. Comfy bed. Folks were nice enough. Complementary cab to and from the airport. That's a nice touch. Breakfast looked yummy though I just opted for the oatmeal (hey, how can you not have some dried cherries when you're in the cherry capitol?). But no Sunday paper? When I asked about one the desk clerk looked at me like I was from Ohio (or something like that). What hotel does not have papers for their guests on a Sunday morning? Even if I gotta pay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 784 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not a happy camper. Shower water temp mediocre, at best, and the bathroom fan is constantly on (no switch or adjustment), and is above the bathtub, making for an extremely cold shower experience :(. Because the fan is constantly on, and not all that quiet, the bathroom door must be kept closed when in the room.

Check-in staff was more interested in the computer that even acknowledging my presence, and then was more concerned that I understand that long distance calls were not authorized from the room (who uses hotel phones these days anyway??) than he was getting me checked-in

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really clean rooms, great attentive staff, and centrally located. I will totally stay here again.

Side note, Tripadvisor, if you're going to require people to use a minimum number of characters when filling out a survey, maybe do them the favor of counting down the characters...jeez...what a pain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicoolchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Last minute reservation, happy they had availability. Hampton Inns consistantly provide great rooms, wonderful breakfast, clean environment -- and so does the Traverse City Hampton Inn. They are located on the east side of town, right across from the bay. Can't wait to come back in the summer; I bet the view of the bay is awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrightbythesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have had our strings of disappointing surprises when it comes to checking in to hotels and getting less than what is expected. With limited experience with Hampton Inns we were not sure what it would be like. The staff (Dee) was incredible and helped us check in early, our room was clean, up to date and the beds were among the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Breakfast was awesome and had plenty of options. The coffee that was available in the front lobby was great. All around a great stay! Well worth the extra few $ compared to the other options around.

Room Tip: Two queen beds are the same price as a single queen most often but have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is close to the airport but lacks any type of suites. Expect postage size rooms and loud highway road noise starting about 3am. Hilton award points are much less than all other hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. Road noise loud! airport close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gettinwestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed while in town to go skiing. The front desk staff were all helpful, especially Sam. From getting me there when my gps couldn't, to giving an awesome dinner recommendation, he was a great help. Clean rooms, nice lobby, definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $78 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing