We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we'd expect - - and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
midwest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what we'd expect - - and more!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This Hampton is what we would expect from a Hampton.
Rooms are nice with a built in desk. Free wireless is great. The room was clean and fresh. The bathroom is a decent size. The air conditioner ran quietly.
We happened to be there when high winds came thru and the electricity went out during the night. In the morning, the staff made every effort to see that the guests were taken care of. They met us with flashlights and walked us through the breakfast area. They went above and beyond.
It is a little ways out of town and would be more convenient if it were nearer to the downtown, but that certainly isn't a deal-breaker. It's nice that it's directly across from a park area and the lake.
Would we stay here again? You bet!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letstravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    242
    116
    42
    24
See reviews for
195
253
26
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We recently were in Traverse City to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Hampton Inn. Speedy checkin. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little too soft. We enjoyed the full breakfast and all the other amenities including all day free coffe offered in the lobby. Conveniently located to all that Traverse City has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We would have loved to stay longer. Everything was as we've come to expect from a Hampton Inn. The room was impeccably clean and the beds very comfortable. We will choose this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The good: We were pleasantly surprised with the facilities in this hotel. Everything felt new. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and nicely done. Hallways and elevators were well maintained. According to one of the staff it was renovated 3 years ago.

The so-so:
Check in - I understand that things can get busy during check-in but it was not that busy when we checked in. The lady behind the counter acted impatient with my questions. Parking was limited because 3/4th of the lot was barricaded as they were seal coating the rest. This became inconvenient at first as guests arriving did not know where to go park. The employee seemed to expect that we knew where to go to park. It would have been nice if they warned me that parking was temporarily inconvenient due to the pavement project. My 2 cents is that especially hotel employees, customer service should be over the top since after all it is a hospitality industry.

Breakfast - Breakfast was good overall but the scrambled steak and eggs tasted greasy. I was also hoping there was an egg substitute for those watching their cholesterol but wanted to eat eggs. Otherwise, all other food was fine.

If not for the above experience, I would have rated this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogtog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
243 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is situated on the major road right through the heart of town and the beach is right across the street.
The staff were very helpful. The rooms very clean. Breakfast area was adequate even though the hotel was booked solid. Traverse City area has so much to offer we spent three nights here and could have spent much more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel and staff were great!
I had made 2 separate reservations using 2 different methods, which caused us to end up with 2 different room types. When arriving the Hotel Staff was able to change the reservation so we did not have to check out and check back in. I was not expecting this because I assumed the hotel was sold out for that Saturday night by the time we had arrived.

The breakfast was great, lots to choose from - Hot Items, waffles, fruit, cereal, pastries, bagels, etc. The staff kept the area well stocked considering it was busy every morning we were there

The room was slightly smaller, but that was okay because we didn't spend much time there. It looked like the hotel had recently been remodeled. Everything looked new and modern, very clean.

Overall great stay!

Room Tip: May want to get a room with one bed if possible as it will give more room in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank striking20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennville, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed 1 night in here and got a room on the 2nd floor. The hallways were clean and our room with 1 king bed was great for 2 of us. The furnishings were cherry wood look and gave the room and elegant feel. Everything looked new and the bed and linens were very attractive and fresh. They included "soft" pillows and "firmer" pillows so you had a choice. Nice flat screen TV with HBO. There was no mini-frig in our room which we missed but not a big deal - the more expensive rooms had them. The bathroom was clean and well appointed although the grout near the floor looked like it had mold and needed a better cleaning. Again - not a deal breaker at all. One problem for me was that the doors are very heavy and hard to handle when you have arms full of luggage and when people were going in and out in the night - those heavy doors slam VERY LOUDLY. I figure it's the people that should be more considerate and hold them so that they close more quietly when everyone is sleeping. The continental breakfast had more than the usual - had hot scrambled eggs with small chunks of steak and much more. Otherwise - great place - I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rootentooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing