We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First time visitor and it was very nice. Cozy with only 3 rooms but very nice accomodations. TV and reception was nothing fancy, but for Northern Michigan it was OK. Wi-Fi provided. Breakfast was very good, nicely done, homemade.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Wind in the Pines and had a fabulous time. We've stayed at other Bed & Breakfasts that have been somewhat uncomfortable but we LOVED Wind in the Pines. The location was excellent. The rooms and home were beautiful. The homeowners were gracious and available without intruding. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area. Oh and Chuck and Cindee really serve up a delicious breakfast. Don't miss that! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spend two weekend nights at this secluded location minutes from Traverse City. Our hosts, Cindy and Chuck were very knowledgeable about the area and served marvelous breakfasts. The property is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are large and comfortable. The common guest area was inviting. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed only one night, wished we had booked our entire weekend here! The room was spotless. This B&B really feels like we were staying with friends! There are 3 rooms total, we stayed in the moose room. The house is beautiful, the room was spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Here are a few things sorta negative, which makes me feel bad to say. We could hear them walking around upstairs, the rooms blinds are light filtering, and the breakfast was promptly at 9am and there is no choice in what you eat. It was a good meal but I would have prefered a choice.

Overall I would and have recommended this place to friends and family. We will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imkaylajacobsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wind in the Pines has been my best B & B experience to date. Chuck and Cindee understand this business and provide a gorgeous setting, a beautiful home, clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast. We have stayed with them the last two years for a few nights with each stay. I would never venture further than Wind in the Pines if looking for a B & B close to Traverse City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioMarine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Shannon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a beautiful home - and immaculate! We got to see all 3 of the rooms because the other guests hadn't arrived yet when we got there, and all 3 rooms are immaculate and spacious. The home is situated in the country in a quiet area, yet it's only minutes from downtown Traverse City, the downtown beaches and Grand Traverse Bay. Breakfast is served at 9 am, which is a bit late if you want to get an early start. Other than that though, Wind in the Pines is a beautiful home and the amenities and layout of the rooms were very well planned. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just spent two nights with Cindee and Chuck. Absolutely charming, beautiful accommodations tucked into a gorgeous location in the pines. Conveniently located just est of Traverse City. Large, comfortable rooms. Cindee and Chuck were so helpful finding our way around town, especially during the cherry festival ! Food was great. Just wished I could have gotten up earlier each morning and enjoyed the beautiful mornings in the portico (but I slept too well!). Will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: We had the Moose room. Large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knitgusknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
5.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
9.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,398 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13573 S Gallagher Rd, Traverse City, MI 49684-7558
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open all year long! Our beautiful log home is nestled among acres of pines offering peaceful, quiet relaxation. Three spacious guest rooms reflect the beauty of the north woods with their pine cone, bear and moose themes. We are located on the west side of Traverse City, just five miles from downtown. Our guests tell us that our location is ideal – away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to experience all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing