We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B Stay Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First B&B Stay Fantastic”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've resisted staying at a B&B in the past but thought we would give it a try on a recent anniversary week-end. The location of the property is great because it's only five minuites from downtown but is tucked in the woods on the way to Sleeping Bear Dunes. Chuck and Cindee made us feel right at home and offered restaurant "inside info" only full time residents can. Our room was very spacious and decorated with a "Up North" feel. Breakfast was fantastic and our hosts took my wife's allergies into account when determining the menu. We would definately recommend Wind in the Pines and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertPfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We enjoyed a great two night stay at the Wind in the Pines bed and breakfast this past weekend. We stayed in the Moose Room, which is a spacious octagonal room on the lower level. The place was spotless, charming decor in keeping with their log cabin style and very welcoming. There is a separate entrance on the lower level which is nice, so you can come and go as you please and don't feel as if you're disturbing anyone. Dresser in the hallway full of toiletries you may have forgotten is a nice touch.
The breakfast was delicious; eggs florentine, fruit salad and delicious muffins still warm from the oven. There is also a coffee/tea station you can use at any time, as well as a refridgerator for guest use.
Chuck and Cindee are very friendly, amiable hosts; I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FStarBuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

While on a ten-day excursion through Michigan in June 2009 that included numerous stops and stays in various places, we spent two nights in this beautiful log-home type B & B. (I'm late writing this, obviously, so despite the "June 2011" date attached to my review, it was actually two years prior) We were in the area for a little golf and to tour some of the wineries close by, so it was a great jumping-off spot for that purpose. We got a room right off of the main living room that looked out to the front of the property which was handsomely appointed, spacious, and very clean. The common (living) room is quite large, is nicely furnished, and offers a number of local-area reading materials to help plan your daily jaunts to the various local sights. The owners were very personable and ready with good info about places to go and how to get there. Breakfasts were excellent and kept us going well into the day. The only thing I found lacking, and this is simply my nit-picking, is the coffee was rather watery. I prefer a brew you can almost chew, so I'm probably off base a bit here. By all means stay here, you'll love it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Chuck and Cindee are wonderful hosts! They have really taken the time to make Wind in the Pines a special B&B experience. The home is perfect for the non-Victorian types and pristine. Breakfasts were very tasty and the beds were very comfortable.
The location is far enough away from the town you feel that you are in the woods but close enough that it isn’t a big deal to hop in the car and drive to dinner, Sleeping Bear Dunes or multiple wineries which are all close by. Cindee gave us outstanding recommendations and directions. Not to be missed is the mocha coffee in a café in a cute little town on the peninsula.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Pine Cone room which is near the common area. the other 2 rooms are on the lower l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased. Our main goal was to do the Sleeping Bear Dunes area and this is a great location for that and for doing Traverse City and the local wine regions. The negative is that there is so much to do in the area that we really did not hang out at the B&B that much, so we probably could have gone with a less expensive place. But we did enjoy the spacious room, comfortable furnishings, the relaxing common area and the tasty and plentiful breakfasts. The owners were helpful with information and very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifesatrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Wind in the Pines during a wine tasting trip in Traverse City. What an amazing experience! Chuck and Cindee were so accommodating, we felt right at home! The location was very secluded and we were very relaxed while we were there. We stayed in the Pine Cone room and it was very nice and clean. The breakfast was phenomenal both mornings we were there. We would definitely recommend Wind in the Pines to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat in Traverse City. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have never stayed in a B&B before and I may have ruined myself for all future B&Bs. Not only was it everything I expected (Photos on the website don't do it justice), it was beautiful, peaceful and Cindee and Chuck were so friendly.
We stayed at the Moose room. It was very spacious with a large bath.
The whole property is only 8 years old and in perfect condition.
I work for a hotel company and am used to staying at Marriott's, HIlton's, etc. but this residence had so much character it was everything I wanted and more

Room Tip: Moose room is perfect for a couples getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
9.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,071 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
315 reviews
9.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wind in the Pines Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13573 S Gallagher Rd, Traverse City, MI 49684-7558
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open all year long! Our beautiful log home is nestled among acres of pines offering peaceful, quiet relaxation. Three spacious guest rooms reflect the beauty of the north woods with their pine cone, bear and moose themes. We are located on the west side of Traverse City, just five miles from downtown. Our guests tell us that our location is ideal – away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to experience all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing