We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly surprised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slightly surprised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Check-in: When we arrived, the staff was on a smoking break but when they returned they were quite friendly. They knew a little about which beaches would be the best to visit and gave us a few pool towels after we asked.

Room: We were told upon check-in that we were in one of the non-smoking "suites." The comforter and curtains smelled a little smoky but the room (202) was quite spacious. There were about forty cable channels and HBO. There was a mini refrigerator in the room but no coffee pot. The beds were quite lumpy, mine seemed to dent down in the middle more than the other bed. The carpeting was dingy and there were some sticky spots that I tried my best to avoid. The shower did smell like sulfur (and I don't think there's a way to change this) but the smell did not really linger in the room for more than a few minutes. The air conditioning worked sporadically and we thought for awhile that maybe our electricity usage was being monitored as the ac kept shutting off. There are also now screens in the windows but the hotel location is on a major road and we would have to listen to trucks barreling down the road all night. Our room was also located at the end of the hallway so we could hear people screeching into their cellphones from our floor and the first floor. The maids seemed to clean the room as well as it could be cleaned. The sheets were not changed the three days we stayed at the hotel but the floor appeared to be vacuumed each day.

Internet: I saw other guests using the free wireless internet in the breakfast room as well as the lobby but am not sure if it also worked in the rooms.

Continental Breakfast: Ran from 6-10a and included frozen bagels (cream cheese, butter, and jelly), waffle maker, assorted desserts, coffee/orange juice/milk. If we didn't show up by 7a there seemed to be nothing left.

Pool: The pool was very small and the hot tub a normal size but did they not appear to be dirty whatsoever. The pool and hot tub are enclosed so the room itself got hot and there wasn't really a deck or that many plastic chairs to sit on around the pool. The pool towels can be picked up at the front desk.

For the price ($130 a night, including tax), I was happier than I expected after reading the other reviews. There's an outlet mall and the Traverse City mall within a fifteen minute drive as well as many different eating locations. The trip into downtown only took about ten minutes.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    24
    18
    29
See reviews for
27
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TC, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

The other reviews here are no surprise. This hotel is the worst.

I booked a suite; the floor hadn't been vacummed (dried mud throughout), there was toothpaste in the bathroom sink, the water smelled of rotten eggs, the toilet was stained, and I'm pretty sure the sheets hadn't been changed.

Needless to say, we did not stay for the night.

I contacted management & even went to Choice Hotels (parent company) with my complaints and asked for a refund. NOTHING.

I won't be surprised it the local health department shuts them down soon, but I'm hoping my review will be helpful to others before that happens.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissyAJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

Stayed here, as it was close to friends and not too long a distance to drive to our attractions and shopping. The inside pool is the smallest pool I had ever seen, maybe twenty feet long and is geared more towards kids...small kids. We were on the second floor and our window had no screen on it which seemed dangerous, otherwise the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast ws usual fare like most hotels that offer them and nothing especially stood out. Staff were pleasant and check-in was quick.

  • Liked — three room keys
  • Disliked — small pool area, safety concern about window screen
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay for a room only not so much for the pool and spa
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shrewdgrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Our continental breakfast has been expanded since your stay.
Located on Chum's Corners, we're close enough to downtown to enjoy all that downtown Traverse City has to offer, but far enough away to not have to deal with the traffic. Conveniently located near Wuerfel Park, Center Ice Arena and Interlochen Center for the Arts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

My Husband and I were Very disappointed in our stay at Econo Lodge in Traverse City. We stayed July 7-9 2006. It was our first wedding anniversary so we got the "romantic get away package" We paid over $300 for 2 nights and there were holes in our comforter, a dead bug on my pillow, our garden tub in our bathroom was coming off the wall, it was also missing a jet, we had to have maintance come and fix our AC, we also we're suppose to get the pool and spa for an hour after it closed and there where kids still swmming in there past closing time. We complained about all of this and we haven't heard anything back. We paid way to much money for two nights to have all of this go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
We are sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. New management and staff are in place and the issues you raised have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sault ste marie
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2004

We were disappointed that the advertisement showed continental breakfast. We went down for Breakfast a 9:00 and we were lucky to get a coffee. The front staff did not seem to care, just said that everything was gone. Did not offer to get us some juice, or anything for that matter. We also had our sleep disturbed by transort trucks that started there trucks a 5 am and let them run until they left. Right outsie our room , noisy and the smell of diesel kept us from resting.
We were suppose to stay 2 nights , however we checked out because of the poor service we rec'd
An apolgy probably would have kept us there for the second night.

Helpful?
11 Thank saultcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Under new management.
Continental breakfast is available 6:00 am - 10:00 am. This includes danishes, bagels, coffee and orange juice. Waffles and cold cereal are offered "in season" and on weekends during the "off season".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
7.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
7.2 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing