We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Noisy with Bad Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Noisy with Bad Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After staying at this hotel, it became obvious to me that this is a "Party Hotel" There were several rooms of very noisy partiers. I brought this to the attention of hotel staff twice and nothing was done. The noise continued until about 3:30 am. When I went to check out, there was nobody at the front desk. It took about 10 minutes of waiting for the front desk person to arrive in order to check out. This hotel and its management are a disgrace to the EconoLodge brand and should not be allowed to continue business as part of the Choice Hotels group

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel will have lots of noise coming in from all the partiers that stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are sorry that the behavior of other guests you were attending a wedding was a disturbance to you. The guests in question quieted down when asked and our staff person patrolled the halls throughout the night without incident. We did not have any complaints from other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    22
    18
    26
See reviews for
25
22
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The bugs are what got to us. The price was horribly inflated and the staff was indifferent close to rude. There were signs everywhere that said don't do this and don't do that. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traverler8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Surrounded by the outdoors and with many of our guests partaking in outdoor activities, we welcome suggestioins on how to live bugs from entering the building. We monitor rates on a regular basis and strive to keep our rates reasonable by Traverse City standards--we are routinely among the most affordable in the area. We regret that it is necessary based upon past guest behavior to post rules and regulations regarding proper conduct and use of facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Traverse City, MI is a good bargain especially for people who do not wish to spend over $100 a night in the area. It is just 10-15 minutes south of the heart of the city. While it does intend to be a 5 star hotel it does provide what is necessary for a good stay: clean bedding, good restroom with warm water, and a good waffle for the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your business and hope that you will be back. We are continually striving to provide our guests with a pleasant stay. I am happy to announce that we have recently completed our wifi expansion project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

No air conditioning, price was overinflated! This room was worth $79 at best! If you think your rooms are worth what you charge, you are mistaken. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I am also filing a complaint with Hotels.com and will suggest that they take this hotel off their list! I was very disappointed with the rate, thanks for ripping me off!

Room Tip: My tip is this,"stay at a different hotel!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaDenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. However, the room and air conditioner in question has been in use EVERY night since your stay, with no one experiencing any problems. Our maintenance man as also thoroughly checked the unit and found no problems. This is an older model air conditioner and we do occasionally run into problems with user error as guests tend to turn the knobs to the wrong postions which then causes the unit to go into a shut down mode and further tinkering delays the restart.
We continually compare our prices with the other motels in the area and make a sincere effort to keep our prices reasonable by Traverse City standards, as such we are generally one of the least expensive stays in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The room was 58.00 with my Discount.
Other people paid double that.
The Jacuzzi was so hot u couldn't ever put your hand in it.
Check in was a bright spot. The girl was great.
.....The room...OMG it was cold, thank god. BUt...the bed was ....well not comfy..
The pillows were squashed down. The sheets I hope were clean, but were so worn, they kept fall off the corners.
Breakfast Continental but Ok
If you want a Choice Hotel try Comfort Inn or Qualify Inn on the Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kidvallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. The spa and pool temperature are monitored several times a day and are kept within established standards. Over the last several months the Traverse City area has been experiencing unseasonably warm temperatures. Since a room will warm up faster than it will cool down, we have been leaving air conditioners running on a continuous basis for arrivals. Unfortunately, beds are a very subjective item. In any given week we can have the same bed judged too hard, too soft or just right by guests. I am sorry that your bed was not too your liking. Please contact us at info@tceconolodge.com and identify yourself so that I may look up who checked you in and can recognize her for her performance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you need wireless in your room, make sure you get a room close to the lobby to help ensure you get it. We couldn't access it in our room. I needed it for business and had to go down to the lobby to get it to work. Also, the staff did not give us clear instructions regarding log-in information. We were finally given a piece of paper with the information on it. The alarm on the radio next to the bed went off at midnight & was set to the highest volume. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room was clean but needs updating. We have stayed in other "budget" motels in the Traverse City area that were nicer. We will not be returning to this one.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have been in ongoing negotiations with our wireless provider to expand wireless service but contractual requirements have delayed this process and we are trying to proceed in a cost-efficient manner so that the cost does not have to be passed on to the guest. Currently Econo Lodge regulations only require wifi in the lobby. We offer it in the lobby and at least 50% of the guest rooms--more may get the service depending on the laptop. Expansion is required by the end of the year and we hope to have the expansion in place before the end of summer. We replace several beds last summer and renovations and upgrades are an ongoing process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

This is terribly overpriced. The owner/manager can claim the prices are in line with the "market" all he wants. This is a $60 - $65 per night hotel (that I paid $109.95/nt. for). This hotel was very old and very poorly maintained. The only reason we stayed here was because of a nearby soccer tournament.
Upon entering our room, we needed to kill 10-12 flies before we went to sleep. . The windows (with no screens) were closed upon our entering.
A live cricket graced the small breakfast room.
If the owner/manager cares to reply with the standard "isolated incident" or "pricing in line with other area hotels" I'll post some pictures and see what you have to say.
The only way you will stop these negative reviews is if you lower your prices in-line with the REALITY of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelseamattawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. In the last few years we have preformed many upgrades and renovations and more are in the process and/or being planned. All of our guest rooms and hallways have received new wallpaper. We have installed new carpet throughout the building. We have hooked into the Blair Township water system, provided all rooms with coffee makers, are in the process of upgrading our TV's and are undergoing a new landscaping program.
Industry standards require that we keep the windows closed for a guest's arrival. We are open to suggestions on how to keep live insects off the premises, but as people come and go, the bugs manage to sneak in.
Room rates are subject to supply and demand and are monitored on a daily basis. This guest received an early bird rate, as guests who made their reservations later paid more--and still paid less than just about anywhere else in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
7.2 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
7.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing