We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is very overpriced! Our room was $218.00.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Burton, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel is very overpriced! Our room was $218.00.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

No air conditioning, price was overinflated! This room was worth $79 at best! If you think your rooms are worth what you charge, you are mistaken. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I am also filing a complaint with Hotels.com and will suggest that they take this hotel off their list! I was very disappointed with the rate, thanks for ripping me off!

Room Tip: My tip is this,"stay at a different hotel!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaDenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. However, the room and air conditioner in question has been in use EVERY night since your stay, with no one experiencing any problems. Our maintenance man as also thoroughly checked the unit and found no problems. This is an older model air conditioner and we do occasionally run into problems with user error as guests tend to turn the knobs to the wrong postions which then causes the unit to go into a shut down mode and further tinkering delays the restart.
We continually compare our prices with the other motels in the area and make a sincere effort to keep our prices reasonable by Traverse City standards, as such we are generally one of the least expensive stays in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    24
    18
    29
See reviews for
27
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The room was 58.00 with my Discount.
Other people paid double that.
The Jacuzzi was so hot u couldn't ever put your hand in it.
Check in was a bright spot. The girl was great.
.....The room...OMG it was cold, thank god. BUt...the bed was ....well not comfy..
The pillows were squashed down. The sheets I hope were clean, but were so worn, they kept fall off the corners.
Breakfast Continental but Ok
If you want a Choice Hotel try Comfort Inn or Qualify Inn on the Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kidvallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. The spa and pool temperature are monitored several times a day and are kept within established standards. Over the last several months the Traverse City area has been experiencing unseasonably warm temperatures. Since a room will warm up faster than it will cool down, we have been leaving air conditioners running on a continuous basis for arrivals. Unfortunately, beds are a very subjective item. In any given week we can have the same bed judged too hard, too soft or just right by guests. I am sorry that your bed was not too your liking. Please contact us at info@tceconolodge.com and identify yourself so that I may look up who checked you in and can recognize her for her performance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you need wireless in your room, make sure you get a room close to the lobby to help ensure you get it. We couldn't access it in our room. I needed it for business and had to go down to the lobby to get it to work. Also, the staff did not give us clear instructions regarding log-in information. We were finally given a piece of paper with the information on it. The alarm on the radio next to the bed went off at midnight & was set to the highest volume. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room was clean but needs updating. We have stayed in other "budget" motels in the Traverse City area that were nicer. We will not be returning to this one.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have been in ongoing negotiations with our wireless provider to expand wireless service but contractual requirements have delayed this process and we are trying to proceed in a cost-efficient manner so that the cost does not have to be passed on to the guest. Currently Econo Lodge regulations only require wifi in the lobby. We offer it in the lobby and at least 50% of the guest rooms--more may get the service depending on the laptop. Expansion is required by the end of the year and we hope to have the expansion in place before the end of summer. We replace several beds last summer and renovations and upgrades are an ongoing process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

This is terribly overpriced. The owner/manager can claim the prices are in line with the "market" all he wants. This is a $60 - $65 per night hotel (that I paid $109.95/nt. for). This hotel was very old and very poorly maintained. The only reason we stayed here was because of a nearby soccer tournament.
Upon entering our room, we needed to kill 10-12 flies before we went to sleep. . The windows (with no screens) were closed upon our entering.
A live cricket graced the small breakfast room.
If the owner/manager cares to reply with the standard "isolated incident" or "pricing in line with other area hotels" I'll post some pictures and see what you have to say.
The only way you will stop these negative reviews is if you lower your prices in-line with the REALITY of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelseamattawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. In the last few years we have preformed many upgrades and renovations and more are in the process and/or being planned. All of our guest rooms and hallways have received new wallpaper. We have installed new carpet throughout the building. We have hooked into the Blair Township water system, provided all rooms with coffee makers, are in the process of upgrading our TV's and are undergoing a new landscaping program.
Industry standards require that we keep the windows closed for a guest's arrival. We are open to suggestions on how to keep live insects off the premises, but as people come and go, the bugs manage to sneak in.
Room rates are subject to supply and demand and are monitored on a daily basis. This guest received an early bird rate, as guests who made their reservations later paid more--and still paid less than just about anywhere else in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

In our usual on-the-road search for a place to stay when working on the road, we stayed at this EconoLodge for one night - and while it was alright, it could have been better. As always, we needed tractor-trailer parking and a pet friendly place. This hotel offered both but there was a little bit of balking about bringing in a cat. (Most places expect a dog, I presume!) The internet service was down due to the weather so I had to return to the front desk later on to get my receipt. While I DID tell the front desk while checking in that we required the internet for work, we couldn't access anything later on when the service was restored. At that point, I was told we were given a room that didn't get the internet access. ( Uh, didn't I request that upon check in?) All in all, the rooms were adequate, neat and comfortable. The price was reasonable and the pet fee was again, the standard $10. There is not too much in the area unless you travel into the town - the closest store is a Walgreen's in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We apologize for the mix-up over the internet service. We are currently in negotiations with our internet provider for expanded service (unfortunately, combining the rules and regulations of various entities has delayed this expansion). While this guest proved to be a responsible cat owner, we are unable to accept cats at this time due to several problems we have experienced with cats. We continue to accept dogs in designated pet rooms for a nominal fee of $10 per dog per night. (In my own recent travels I have typically seen pet fees ranging between $50 and $150.) We do offer parking for large vehicles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We visit our grand kids twice, maybe three times a year in Traverse City and we always stay at the Econo Lodge at Chums Corner. We book our room well in advance. We have found that for our own sake that a particular room is the one we always ask to have and never had a problem with that. However on our last weekend there, we were put into a different room with no explination why. When we booked our room I was told that there were plenty of rooms available and that we could have room 101 no problem. We check in and didn't get that room. The clerk did not offer any explination why we didn't get the room we were promised. The main reason is the internet. Room 101 is close to the lobby and we get pretty good internet there. I was also told that they were working to upgrade the internet throughout the intire hotel. I don't think they did.

Room Tip: Pick up a local TV Guide as the ones in the rooms are not accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jag5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thanks you for your loyal patronage. I am sorry that you were unable to have the room you requested and will look into this.
We are in negotiations with our internet provider to be able to expand our internet service and expect the service to be fully available throughout the building by the end of the year. New cable listing guides are currently in print.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvindale, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We liked the fact the continental breakfast was open until 10 AM so we didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn to eat. However, the bed was low to the ground, the mattress hard, and the pillows were like lying on a folded beach towel -no cushion at all! We went to a local store to buy our OWN pillows for the 2nd night of our stay, in fact!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We have done several upgrades and renovations in the past year, and pillows and mattresses are on your list for the next round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
7.2 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing