We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Payed $109.95/nt. for a $65 room.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

This is terribly overpriced. The owner/manager can claim the prices are in line with the "market" all he wants. This is a $60 - $65 per night hotel (that I paid $109.95/nt. for). This hotel was very old and very poorly maintained. The only reason we stayed here was because of a nearby soccer tournament.
Upon entering our room, we needed to kill 10-12 flies before we went to sleep. . The windows (with no screens) were closed upon our entering.
A live cricket graced the small breakfast room.
If the owner/manager cares to reply with the standard "isolated incident" or "pricing in line with other area hotels" I'll post some pictures and see what you have to say.
The only way you will stop these negative reviews is if you lower your prices in-line with the REALITY of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelseamattawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. In the last few years we have preformed many upgrades and renovations and more are in the process and/or being planned. All of our guest rooms and hallways have received new wallpaper. We have installed new carpet throughout the building. We have hooked into the Blair Township water system, provided all rooms with coffee makers, are in the process of upgrading our TV's and are undergoing a new landscaping program.
Industry standards require that we keep the windows closed for a guest's arrival. We are open to suggestions on how to keep live insects off the premises, but as people come and go, the bugs manage to sneak in.
Room rates are subject to supply and demand and are monitored on a daily basis. This guest received an early bird rate, as guests who made their reservations later paid more--and still paid less than just about anywhere else in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

In our usual on-the-road search for a place to stay when working on the road, we stayed at this EconoLodge for one night - and while it was alright, it could have been better. As always, we needed tractor-trailer parking and a pet friendly place. This hotel offered both but there was a little bit of balking about bringing in a cat. (Most places expect a dog, I presume!) The internet service was down due to the weather so I had to return to the front desk later on to get my receipt. While I DID tell the front desk while checking in that we required the internet for work, we couldn't access anything later on when the service was restored. At that point, I was told we were given a room that didn't get the internet access. ( Uh, didn't I request that upon check in?) All in all, the rooms were adequate, neat and comfortable. The price was reasonable and the pet fee was again, the standard $10. There is not too much in the area unless you travel into the town - the closest store is a Walgreen's in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We apologize for the mix-up over the internet service. We are currently in negotiations with our internet provider for expanded service (unfortunately, combining the rules and regulations of various entities has delayed this expansion). While this guest proved to be a responsible cat owner, we are unable to accept cats at this time due to several problems we have experienced with cats. We continue to accept dogs in designated pet rooms for a nominal fee of $10 per dog per night. (In my own recent travels I have typically seen pet fees ranging between $50 and $150.) We do offer parking for large vehicles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We visit our grand kids twice, maybe three times a year in Traverse City and we always stay at the Econo Lodge at Chums Corner. We book our room well in advance. We have found that for our own sake that a particular room is the one we always ask to have and never had a problem with that. However on our last weekend there, we were put into a different room with no explination why. When we booked our room I was told that there were plenty of rooms available and that we could have room 101 no problem. We check in and didn't get that room. The clerk did not offer any explination why we didn't get the room we were promised. The main reason is the internet. Room 101 is close to the lobby and we get pretty good internet there. I was also told that they were working to upgrade the internet throughout the intire hotel. I don't think they did.

Room Tip: Pick up a local TV Guide as the ones in the rooms are not accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jag5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thanks you for your loyal patronage. I am sorry that you were unable to have the room you requested and will look into this.
We are in negotiations with our internet provider to be able to expand our internet service and expect the service to be fully available throughout the building by the end of the year. New cable listing guides are currently in print.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We liked the fact the continental breakfast was open until 10 AM so we didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn to eat. However, the bed was low to the ground, the mattress hard, and the pillows were like lying on a folded beach towel -no cushion at all! We went to a local store to buy our OWN pillows for the 2nd night of our stay, in fact!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your feedback. We have done several upgrades and renovations in the past year, and pillows and mattresses are on your list for the next round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Disgusting room. Blood stains on the mattress and box springs. BLOOD STAINS!!

Standing brown water in the refrigerator, body hairs in the bathroom. Complete indifference by the staff. We informed them of the problems before we left for a wedding, upon our return nothing was done. The girl at the front desk said she "forgot"

Mark, the owner was out of town when we checked out (you pre-pay for rooms) so when I asked for a refund I was told they were unable (willing?) to provide one. She told me that the owner would call me to discuss our problems. That was six weeks ago. Apparantly he isn't too concerned about their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

While there were stains, they were not blood stains and this matter has been addressed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
It is common practice to pay for rooms at check in. Several chains even charge your card as soon as you make the reservation. Staff do not have the authority to issue refunds as this is at management discretion and since many guests attempt to scam in this unfortunate economy, this gives management an opportunity to investigate the situation to determine an appropriate resolution. This is also common practice in the hospitality industry.
Attempts were made to reach the guest at the number provided and messages were left. The guest did not respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

God forbid a person checking in should accidentally leave something on the counter when they're carrying suite cases, clothes on hangers for the wedding the next day, etc. Don't expect to get it back. The hotel staff will just give your property to someone passing by. I left my laptop, and it was given to some kid who said "I THINK this is my fathers". You would think a rational human being would tell the kid, "ok, well your father can come claim it." Nope. They just gave it to the kid. When I confronted the hotel staff about the missing laptop they claimed to not have seen it (because they were afraid it was the one they had just given away). Thanks for lying instead of doing what is right. Now, I'm going to have to sue the owner to get compensated for his terrible, inconsiderate staff. The manager said "oh, I went out of my way to show the camera footage to police, and now you want $1,000?" Yes sir. Thank you for doing YOUR JOB! Sorry it was such an inconvenience!! Because your staff lied, and didn't go and confront the kid once they realized they had given away my laptop, it is now gone. Your hotel owes me.

Oh, and the beds are rock hard. The pillows are small, worn out, lumpy, and yellowing. Good luck getting any rest. The bathroom was pretty clean though... Just about the only good thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFienup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Guest checked in at 6:46 pm as recorded on video and carelessly left laptop on counter while thumbing through pictures displayed on another counter. Walked passed laptop several times before leaving the lobby area. Did not report laptop missing until the following afternoon. Night shift attempted booting it up to see if log in might indicate owner and the laptop didn't even work. Management identified individual claiming the item to the police and they are handling the situation. Guest is just trying to get a non-functioning item replaced at someone else's expense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The people left in charge are completely incompetent. They'll just give your things away to random people and then tell you you need to sue them in order to be compensated, even if it's caught on tape. Also, they'll lie to you AND the police about it. If it hadn't been for the lying/stealing I would've given this place a 3. It's clean, but it's absurdly expensive. The breakfast isn't terrible. Also, we were staying there are part of a wedding group and there were several other problems with guests' rooms. I felt bad for the bride and groom who went through all the effort of setting us up with a group rate only for their guests to be treated this way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Guest carelessly left item in lobby as identified on tape and did not report item missing until the following day, by which time another guest claimed the item. Video tapes were reviewed with police who are contacting the other party.
Rates are reviewed and monitored on a regular basis and are in line with comparable motels in the area. Group received a significant discount even though they did not comply with the guidelines set out in the group contract for receiving such a discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
218 reviews
7.2 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
233 reviews
8.1 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
7.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: $52 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing