We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Lapeer, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Welcome Break”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a winter's weekend in March 2013. We found our room to be clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Check in was fast and courteous. Check out was too. We did not use the pool nor did we eat the breakfast. We did enjoy our in room jacuzzi and fire place. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot! We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lnsdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    354
    103
    34
    18
See reviews for
490
445
30
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went for an over night to Traverse city and found this place on Hotwire. We got a suite for like 100 bucks and was really nice and clean. VERY friendly staff all the way in and out. The pool was really nice and clean. Free breakfast was good as well. It is in a really good location to get to a lot of places in the Traverse City locations. This used to be another hotel before but since Carlson hotels bought this it is really a great deal. NOW, it was off season rate we got , but I, m sure during the summer it is still a great bargain . Bed was best sleep I've had in a very long time. I have a very picky back and was not sore at all in their bed.

Room Tip: Book a suite on Hotwire best deal in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I greatly appreciated the very tastefully updated decor and the cleanliness (!!!) of this hotel. This outstanding, attentive staff gets an A+! I would also compliment them on the beds, pillows and great lighting in the bathroom. Add to all of this the excellent location and you have an exceptional value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheznous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nice newly remodeled clean rooms. Pool and spa were equally as clean. Friendly staff and the hot breakfast was very good. We will stay again next year. Price was very reasonable as well. The rooms have a campus size fridge and also a microwave which was nice to have in our room.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reunite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are locals and stayed the night on the night of a snow storm. The service was incredible. The staff treated us as if we were the only guests there. Our suite was huge and immaculate. The breakfast was hot with lots of variety. The pool was great for the kids. We walked next door to get dinner. We will visit again.

My only issue is that it was a cold winter night and we should have asked for extra blankets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel was better than I expected, very nice room and a great pool. Extremely clean and has a great breakfast also! Very close to downtown Traverse City. We will be back again to this area and will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This Country Inns & Suites facility is different from most. It was another chain previously. But they have made it Carlson as best they could and it works for us. It has the same breakfast room we've come to love in other Country Inns, as well as the same good breakfast food. The room we were assigned to was huge! It had a separate living room/kitchen area, which works great when one of us likes to get up early and the other likes to sleep in! We're Club Carlson members, so we enjoy lower rates when using our points. A great plan!

Room Tip: I think our room was a "family" room, not available at other Country Inns. It had 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABD_Soo_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,115 reviews
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing