We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel was the nicest surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This hotel was the nicest surprise!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Country Inn & Suites in Traverse City was by far the nicest surprise when booking site unseen. The price did not reflect the beauitful cozy room we opened the door to. The staff was beyond friendly and kind and the continental breakfast was above and beyond what you would expect a continental breakfast to be. It was by far the nicest place I've stayed in a really long time. I will defintiely book here again. It's rare to book something online and open the door to something this wonderful!

Room Tip: The suite room is like a mini vacation...you don't have to leave it to have a great time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    340
    99
    34
    17
See reviews for
464
428
30
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault ste. Marie
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed recently with my wife for a couple of nights. The hotel was ok. Not nearly as good as any other Country Inn we have been to. We ended up upgrading our room on arrival to a suite which included a fireplace and jacuzzi. The room seemed very old with ugly wallpaper, and vents that looked like they could fall at any moment. The bed was extremely comfortable, however, the pillows were way too soft. The Jacuzzi was nice, but the fireplace could use a replacement.

This hotel definitely wasn't horrible, but not what I was expecting. With this said, the staff were great, and the breakfast was your average fare...eggs, sausages, waffles, and some bakings. The cookies at the front desk were good as well.

There are much better hotels in Traverse City, however, for the price, its hard to complain. We will more than likely be staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lectral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is not your typical Country Inn. The hotel was formerly a Days Inn. While Country Inn did a great job renovating the rooms, you can't change the cheap design. Good comfy rooms and beds, good breakfast, friendly staff, clean, large pool and hot tub, decent internet speeds. The problem is the paper thin walls, cheap bathroom doors, inconvenient layout of the property. Without straining, I could clearly hear the couple in the room next to us. Their entire conversations could be heard as they discussed their washcloths and towels, what they were going to do the next day, etc... and they were not loud people. When they turned on their sink or flushed their toilet, it would startle me due to the loud noises. On the other side of us was a baby. A good baby, but again I could hear the mother quietly soothing it when it would cry, as if all these people were in my own room. As comfortable as the rooms actually are, I couldn't sleep with the constant conversations/noises going on around me. I can't imagine how horrible it would have been had I had loud people or energetic children next to us! The older bathroom doors didn't match the updated rooms, cheap and thin, they left nothing to the imagination with whatever the bathroom occupant was up to. With all of the obvious upgrades Country Inn put in to this property, they just can't fix the original flaws of this building. That being said, I would stay here again, I would just come better prepared with earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvlagntwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Good breakfast selection, with waffle station. Attentive staff, great pool. Comfortable lobby with fireplace, big screen TV, books and nice cookies and cider in the evening.
I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margieimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with a friendly staff.
The late hours for the Pool was funtastic, along
with the warm cookies thru out the evening
Bed was comfortable and the rooms were quite
with an average breakfast, We will return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Traverse City area is a major tourist destination and has many hotels to choose from. However, as is common is areas such as this, the hotels tend to be pricey. The room rate I paid was a very good value for the area, especially when you consider the quality of the amenities. We had previously lived in the area and remembered this hotel as a Days Inn. Apparently the name change was rather recent and the hotel appeared to be refreshed from top to bottom.

The rooms looked brand new and were very nice (furnishings, bedding, mattress, and bathroom amenities). The remainder of the hotel looked very good as well. The free breakfast was comprehensive and very good with a good choice of cold and hot items.

I did not have any problems during this stay, but all the staff I interacted with were very friendly and customer service oriented. I was offered fresh baked cookies at check in, a nice touch.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wx-man93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Wow, what a great, friendly, clean, hotel, with spacious rooms and a very good FULL breakfast.
The staff were fantastic! I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Traverse City and recommenced it to all of my associates and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for suite with bedroom in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing