We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I would like to commend Penny and Ryan at the Country Inn and Suites for a great time! We are an out of town band that needed a place to stay and Penny held the breakfast late for us because we had a late night Show the night before. The late night hours of the pool and spa are amazing. The warm fresh cookies are great as well as the apple cider.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BamBamFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

The team at Country Inns & Suites were very focused on customer satisfaction. Our room had an issue with the heat. The maintenance team fixed the furnace issue within a few hours of their arrival. They were very professional and did their best to limit their interruptions of our trip. The fact that they fixed the issue was great. However, to show their focus on the customer experience, we were credited one day of our stay due to the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a King Suite in late fall 2013 and enjoyed our room immensely. The suite was spacious and clean. The location was ideal; not too far from downtown but far enough away that it is not busy. Much nicer breakfast options than many other hotels we have stayed at. The only thing we didn't like was the pillows. They were not supportive and seemed to have too much air in them. It felt like my head sunk down to bed and bulges of pillow/air where on either side of my face.

Room Tip: "Splurge" and get a suite. The price increase is minimal and you get so much more room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl003801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a one bedroom suite that has 2 queen beds in the bedroom plus a murphy queen bed in the living room/dining room for our family vacation to Traverse City in late fall. It was a great set up for us traveling with a toddler. Our son had plenty of space to roam so he was never bored and at night he got to sleep in his own separate room from us, which was a plus! The kitchenette (fridge w/o freezer and microwaves) was great for keeping his food/milk and heating it up. The hotel provided a pack n'play with sheets and blankets. The suite was overall updated and clean but definitely showing its age in structural features (crack in door frame, etc.). The breakfast buffet was plentiful (scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, fruits, baked goods, etc.) and the staff was so incredibly nice! We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank daydrmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel was amazing! The staff at the front desk were warm and friendly. All areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. Our room was very large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast blew my mind! There were so many choices and fresh food it was hard to decide what to have! The women putting the breakfast together was working so hard. While maintaining all the food she would also go table to table asking it she could throw out guests plates. I believe her name was Betty. Wonderful place to stay!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I took a little road trip in mid October for our 30th anniversary and this hotel was the third we stayed at, in as many days, and it was the best! We checked in a little early and were told by the gal at the counter that since we were checking in early the cookies weren't quite done. Say what? The cookies weren't done yet but she would call us when they were done if we'd like. We loved the cookies that we had later along with the free coffee that is available. When we got to our room we received a phone call from the front desk checking to make sure everything was okay; it sure was. The gal at the front desk was also very helpful in answering all the questions we had about the local wineries and restaurants. The room was pretty, spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was great! There were many choices and the plates were real, the silverware was real and the glasses and coffees cups were real; no paper or plastic products here! The only negative I could honestly say about this hotel is that it really doesn't look like much from the road. I am so glad that I didn't choose this hotel from it's cover because I would have missed out on the best hotel of the weekend! Thank you Country Inn for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiTheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am in town often for work and I usually stay at a different hotel, but thought I'd try Country Inn & Suites for a change. Am I glad I did! My room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. It was nice to have the microwave and frig in the room as well for late night leftovers. Although this property is not right on the bay, it's reasonably priced, convenient to the main attractions, and the staff is the friendliest I've found in town. The free hot breakfast buffet was a great bonus. This is my new favorite home away from home in Traverse City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $88 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing