We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whirlpool room was nice, staff helpful. Convenient location, though not walkable to beach. Breakfast area was too congested, staff could not keep up with rush. Was a weekend trip, seems everyone in hotel wanted to eat between 8:00 and 9:00. If there during the week (business travelers start earlier) would be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salesrep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    280
    82
    24
    10
See reviews for
373
339
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight trip to check out the fall colors. The room was very clean and we loved the micro and fridge to store our food. The pool and hot tub was really fun and the breakfast in the morning was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONSTED
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the newly, remodeled Country Inn & Suites by Carlson in Traverse City, MI. Our daily, hot breakfast had many items to choose from, was very tasty, entree changed daily and was included with our stay. Rooms have been upgraded and pool & hot tub was relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be going back soon. What a great stay!!!

Larry and Sondra Carnahan

Room Tip: We have stayed in different areas of this motel and all seem to be great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lake
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was excellent. The pool was sparkling clean. The breakfast was more than we expected. Everything was perfect oh, and the cookies at check in, yummmm! We felt very welcome. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Excellent plus I would go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindythebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKFORD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Inn is a great place to stay. Our Corvette Club stayed there on the 12th of October. We arrived and had drive up check-in to get our room keys. They had reserved parking for us. We were all booked in the same area of the Inn. We took over the outdoor patio with a group of about 60 people and had great fun. Although I did not use the pool or jacuzzi, it was open all night after 10 to adults only. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a second floor room with its own balcony that was apart from everyone else and opened from the outside, different, but nice. The room wasn't huge, but comfortable and clean. Everything was new and updated. Breakfast had a lot of options, eggs, french toast, fresh fruit, and the assorted cold cereals, muffins, and bagels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This used to be the Days Inn and it was OK. Now Country Suites has taken it over and everything is redecorated, re-furbished and generally improved. The rooms are all newly decorated with the totally re-done bathrooms. (our bathroom seemed a bit tiny as the new sinks are console-style with a drop in sink and the toilet paper holder is free-standing and not recessed into the wall.)
The inclusive breakfast is great with many options and staff always there to clean up, make more coffee etc. You also get a handout when you check in with a map showing your room and with the wifi password on it. Pool spa area is the same although they have added special elevator chairs to assist handicapped getting into both the pool and the jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Older guests should ask for a room close to the lobby as it can be a very long, long walk for break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing