We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“First Stay and it was GREAT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Stay and it was GREAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Family trip with two under 10yrs. old children. Very spacious room, Rm.#420.

Excellent friendly staff, thanks to all , Michael at front desk and Mike B.who is so busy all over the place, lol.

Great pool area, clean rooms, vey comfortable beds. Location is A-1 +++

Fast check-in and oh so easy check-out, thanks.

Very nice free breakfast, many options sure to please all, not just some throw together items to say free breakfast.

We will stay at this hotel again and be bringing other families along next time. We tried this Hotel due to the hotel right next door increasing their rates overnight and so glad we did. Next door we feel, has no repeat customer appreciation

It is very nice to stay at a hotel and have no complaints.

Thank-you Country Inn staff and Hotel for an enjoyable stay.

See you all again.

My Family !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank From-The-Sault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    279
    82
    24
    10
See reviews for
371
339
23
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Comes up a 2 star hotel when you reserve but definite very clean, brand new and updated, and great warm breakfast. At least 3 to 3.5

Everyone was very welcoming and said Hi to us everywhere we were on the hotel grounds. Great stay over all for the price. I am a huge hotel snob and this passed my test would stay here again for sure.

Only down side looks a little dated from outside and seriously nit picking but breakfast attendants were so concerned with cleaning it led to very longs lines for breakfast.

Room Tip: No views of water or anything. Room is a room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spedteacherytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Is a very busy hotel on a busy street. Appears to have been refurbed lately as it's an older style hotel, but the updates work nicely. Breakfast was very good, a bit crowded, so get a seat early. Good location close to downtown area. Rooms were clean and quiet. All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Country Inn & Suites was a very nice hotel and I ended up booking a room here for my daughter and I based on the good reviews, the caliber of the hotel and the price, which was better than many in the area. I would have given this hotel five stars except for the fact that the maid forgot to clean our room one day. To our surprise, we came back to our room at 5:30 p.m. to see that the room wasn't cleaned up! However, the gentleman at the front desk made arrangements to get this handled when we said we would be out of the room again in an hour. The breakfast was very good, although the line was crazy long, but that's what happens if you get there on the later side, between 9 and 9:30 a.m. I was somewhat disappointed that there were noisy children splashing in the pool when it was supposed to be the time for adult swim only. All-in-all, we did have a nice stay at this hotel and would consider staying there again should we return to Traverse City. The room was clean and comfortable and that's what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyzgirl514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjc
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While this was a bonus stay based on points. It was the best one ever. I was greeted as a special person and thanked for my brand loyalty. Have gotten plenty of free rooms at many places, yet these folks made it a special thank you. A nice suite with jacquzi tub and some chips and candy. The rrom was clean, the area was quiet. They do accept pets for stays and I saw my first MURPHY bed in years! Maybe should have stayed for another night? Thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: While I do not know what other places in the area do, this seems reasonable for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the relative affordability so we did not know what to expect. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and practically insisted we take some cookies. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a clean room, nice decor, a flat screen television, free WiFi, HBO, mini fridge, microwave, a clean bathroom with plenty of towels, and a coffee maker with plenty of coffee packets. The housekeeping staff were very accommodating and professional. The beds were comfortable with three pillows each. The closet had a safe, ironing board, and extra bedding.

The full breakfast had multiple choices and the food was very good. They offered fruit with an optional sauce and yogurt with an optional berry sauce. Both were excellent. They have a large attractive patio area outside. Due to the large amount of people there was a wait to get through the line at breakfast both days but it was very short, Having worked in the food services industry, I was very impressed with whom ever manages this area because it ran like a well oiled machine, accommodating everyone. Every choice of food was constantly filled and staff moved in and out very efficiently and courteously.

There was a very potent pool smell in the lobby. We asked for a room as far away from the pool as possible, they accommodated, and our room was fine. They made an unfortunate choice in hallway carpeting with deep crevices and this was dirty in many areas of the hotel. I imagine you'd have to shampoo it every day to keep it clean. However, the carpet in the rooms was clean and very nice.

Due to the price, although no price in Traverse city is "fair" in the summer, the staff, the breakfast, and the clean room, we'll stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travler12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel met the quality standards we had come to expect from this brand. I expect that as it completes the transformation from a Days Inn, the little things will get worked out. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was satisfying though the same options were present every day. Clean, comfortable, a good location and a fair price - a good choice in TC.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Carlson and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing