We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stay and it was GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Family trip with two under 10yrs. old children. Very spacious room, Rm.#420.

Excellent friendly staff, thanks to all , Michael at front desk and Mike B.who is so busy all over the place, lol.

Great pool area, clean rooms, vey comfortable beds. Location is A-1 +++

Fast check-in and oh so easy check-out, thanks.

Very nice free breakfast, many options sure to please all, not just some throw together items to say free breakfast.

We will stay at this hotel again and be bringing other families along next time. We tried this Hotel due to the hotel right next door increasing their rates overnight and so glad we did. Next door we feel, has no repeat customer appreciation

It is very nice to stay at a hotel and have no complaints.

Thank-you Country Inn staff and Hotel for an enjoyable stay.

See you all again.

My Family !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank From-The-Sault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Comes up a 2 star hotel when you reserve but definite very clean, brand new and updated, and great warm breakfast. At least 3 to 3.5

Everyone was very welcoming and said Hi to us everywhere we were on the hotel grounds. Great stay over all for the price. I am a huge hotel snob and this passed my test would stay here again for sure.

Only down side looks a little dated from outside and seriously nit picking but breakfast attendants were so concerned with cleaning it led to very longs lines for breakfast.

Room Tip: No views of water or anything. Room is a room :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spedteacherytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Is a very busy hotel on a busy street. Appears to have been refurbed lately as it's an older style hotel, but the updates work nicely. Breakfast was very good, a bit crowded, so get a seat early. Good location close to downtown area. Rooms were clean and quiet. All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSP-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Country Inn & Suites was a very nice hotel and I ended up booking a room here for my daughter and I based on the good reviews, the caliber of the hotel and the price, which was better than many in the area. I would have given this hotel five stars except for the fact that the maid forgot to clean our room one day. To our surprise, we came back to our room at 5:30 p.m. to see that the room wasn't cleaned up! However, the gentleman at the front desk made arrangements to get this handled when we said we would be out of the room again in an hour. The breakfast was very good, although the line was crazy long, but that's what happens if you get there on the later side, between 9 and 9:30 a.m. I was somewhat disappointed that there were noisy children splashing in the pool when it was supposed to be the time for adult swim only. All-in-all, we did have a nice stay at this hotel and would consider staying there again should we return to Traverse City. The room was clean and comfortable and that's what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyzgirl514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

While this was a bonus stay based on points. It was the best one ever. I was greeted as a special person and thanked for my brand loyalty. Have gotten plenty of free rooms at many places, yet these folks made it a special thank you. A nice suite with jacquzi tub and some chips and candy. The rrom was clean, the area was quiet. They do accept pets for stays and I saw my first MURPHY bed in years! Maybe should have stayed for another night? Thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: While I do not know what other places in the area do, this seems reasonable for what you get
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the relative affordability so we did not know what to expect. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and practically insisted we take some cookies. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a clean room, nice decor, a flat screen television, free WiFi, HBO, mini fridge, microwave, a clean bathroom with plenty of towels, and a coffee maker with plenty of coffee packets. The housekeeping staff were very accommodating and professional. The beds were comfortable with three pillows each. The closet had a safe, ironing board, and extra bedding.

The full breakfast had multiple choices and the food was very good. They offered fruit with an optional sauce and yogurt with an optional berry sauce. Both were excellent. They have a large attractive patio area outside. Due to the large amount of people there was a wait to get through the line at breakfast both days but it was very short, Having worked in the food services industry, I was very impressed with whom ever manages this area because it ran like a well oiled machine, accommodating everyone. Every choice of food was constantly filled and staff moved in and out very efficiently and courteously.

There was a very potent pool smell in the lobby. We asked for a room as far away from the pool as possible, they accommodated, and our room was fine. They made an unfortunate choice in hallway carpeting with deep crevices and this was dirty in many areas of the hotel. I imagine you'd have to shampoo it every day to keep it clean. However, the carpet in the rooms was clean and very nice.

Due to the price, although no price in Traverse city is "fair" in the summer, the staff, the breakfast, and the clean room, we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travler12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel met the quality standards we had come to expect from this brand. I expect that as it completes the transformation from a Days Inn, the little things will get worked out. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Breakfast was satisfying though the same options were present every day. Clean, comfortable, a good location and a fair price - a good choice in TC.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $88 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing