We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus and Minus”
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plus and Minus”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Checked in Sat August 3, 2013
Hotel Desk Staff Friendly
Sunday - no one came to clean the room - finally late in the evening I called and asked for towels, toiletries and coffee packet. No apology from desk OR housekeeping.
Is this the service I should get for a $279.00 room including tax?

Good - Beds are very nice and comfortable. The room was quiet and I did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms

Bathtubs small and the shower curtain tends to attach to the body. Water pressure - well, let's say we are conserving water. The toiletries are made in china. I hope the hotel will feature some Michigan or American made products in the future.

The room had fingerprints on windows..

Checked out on Thursday. We did not dine in the restaurant.

The hotel is within very convenient walking distance to shops and restaurants.

The desk staff WAS very helpful with directions and information. This is a historic hotel from the 1930's. Not a cookie-cutter hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel we would like to thank you for your visit to the hotel and your comments. We can investigate further if you would like to contact the hotel regarding your issues, but appreciate your thorough review and hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    178
    120
    75
    45
See reviews for
79
202
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
243 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Found the front desk staff ( especially the manager) to be uncaring and abrupt. They have little or no concern for guests. There for business and they are not responsive to concerns of the group.
Beds are great for Good sleep quality. Housekeeping staff wonderful. Rooms are older but have good heating and cooling. TV is up to date. First floor staff just has that tourist city attitude of take it or leave it.

Room Tip: Try to get higher up for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your visit to the hotel and your response. We always strive to make sure every guest feels welcome and we are sorry if we did not do so in your case. We hope that you can visit us in the future if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This placed save me! We had rented a home in Traverse City after seeing it online. When we arrived, it was NOT what we had hoped for at all. I quickly went to my smart phone to come up with a Plan B. Park Place Hotel became my plan B. A polite gentleman who took my call also checked us in when we arrived. The hotel isn't a chain so it has a certain amount of charm. Our room had a nice balcony and was quite spacious. The bed was absolutely dreamy! The bathroom had a separate area to keep my curling iron, make up bag and such. One of my favorite things is the disposable make up remover pad they had in the bathroom. I know it seems minimal, but it was a nice touch! The water pressure was also very good. The towels were thick and luxurious.

The idea of NOT having to pay for valet was great too. We had easy access in and out of the hotel. I would absolutely stay there again. I felt like it was a great value based on the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FanofPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Park Place and your comments. The Park Place is one of the few hotels in Traverse City that allows pets. We were glad we were able to accommodate you and hope that you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was by myself and merely wanted to be in easy walking distance of downtown restaurants and shops; the location was perfect for my purposes. All of the staff I encountered (front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, and bar) were pleasant and helpful. The room (in the tower) was quite small (it was sufficient for me as a solo traveler, but it would have been cramped for two) and the mattress was rather hard, but the room was clean and well equipped. The bathroom was dated if one were to nit-pick, but OK. The views from the Beacon bar were great as advertised, but the place is tiny! Get there early or you may not get a spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparcouvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel we would like to thank you for your recent stay and your comments. We hope you can return to Traverse City in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

After a long days drive on a Circle Tour of Lake Michigan, we ended up here after another hotel had gone out of business that we had a booking with. The Bayfront looked nice, but we had a 35 pound, quiet, trained dog-- and so I turned to my Automobile Guide for Hotels with Pets, and this hotel was in it. The only problem was that the most inexpensive room would run more than twice as much as the prior booking. What I can say is that the room was nicer than expected, and the pillows, mattress and bed were extremely comfortable and that I slept well, and that it was quiet. This is a big distinction because on the road trip there were four other nights, and one also pricey, where the sleeping part was missing--and this is the MAIN part on a hotel stay on a driving trip like this. I would stay here again, and I would recommend it-- especially if you have a pet (there is a small pet fee and agreement to sign), as this limits the choices of hotels of course that you can stay at within this city. Of course, TC is going to be more expensive than other cities--and more expensive during the high season, but it is a lovely place. This hotel included the parking, and was in a convenient location, but not a water-view setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINNESN0WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Minnenowta, Thank you very much for the time you took to provide us with your outstanding review. I hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked 2 nights at Park Place and got a 20% discount through the hotel's actual website. The location is within walking distance of a lot of restaurant and bars, so we enjoyed not having to drive & park downtown.

Our room was on the 8th floor of the tower. We had no issue about the size and cleanliness of the room. Housekeeping was polite. As other reviewers have commented on - some of the hotel is dated despite recent renovations. Toilets have interesting plumbing and are low to the ground. The ceilings are yellowing. The pool and jacuzzi show their years. None of these things ruined our stay and even bugged us. Minor details.

The bar on the 10th floor was below average, but had a nice view.

I would stay here again. The location was prime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are always happy when guests visit the hotel and enjoy their stay. The Park Place Hotel looks forward to a future visit when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice hotel in a historic building two blocks from the west bay in walking distance from a lot of restaurants and bars. The rooms are small but clean. Liked the refrigerator and microwave . Considering this is prime time(July) reasonable rates and it is the only hotel downtown. The view from the rooftop bar is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjhtuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a lovely review. Looking forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Property: Park Place Hotel
Address: 300 E State St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2517
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing