We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking Hospitality”
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lacking Hospitality”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Upon making reservations and told that I was closed out of the "special rate"? The rooms were 139.99 a night and 179.99 for Saturday stay. They didn't have a room for me but suddenly found room when I agreed to the expensive Saturday stay? I wonder really what the story was.

Three of the people I went with got horriably ill and the hotel manager acted discusted having to accomodate the late check out. While one of our party was going to stay another week, this behavior changed their mind and they went elsewhere in town.

Restaurant was open for breakfast if you are an early riser! Don't Sleep past 9:30.
Want to party with long lost family at the bar, better go to bed early as they are shut down at 11:30.

Comfortable beds for sure. It snowed the week I was there and the cleaning staff (who were very plesant) shut off the heat in the room after cleaning. Not sure if that was intentional or what. Burrrrr.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sold1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sold1234, Before responding to you comment, I would like to say that we at the Park Place hope your travel companions are feeling better.

I'm sorry you feel we have not met your needs. The desk did receive one request for a late check out for a woman that was not feeling well, which we did extend. We were then asked for an additional room for which a companion traveler (current occupant of the room) to use to wait for the occupant of the other room, which we also extended a complimentary late check out. Please understand, the hotel was running at very high occupancy and the category of rooms you had requested for late check out needed to be prepared for the next guests to check in to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    183
    128
    81
    48
See reviews for
84
209
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This may be our fifth or sixth stay at Park Place. We like it because it maintains a comfortable elegance with a warm ambience compared to the cardboard stark quality of the newer offerings in Traverse City. It has a warm inviting lobby with comfortable reasonably sized rooms with bathrooms from the 40's and king sized beds stuffed in the rooms. With the luck of the draw you can get a room over looking the lake or at worst the city. The elevators are quaint and slow. The staff is great. The restaurant just okay, but who cares since good to great restaurants are in walking distance. Surface parking is free and adequate except when there are high attendance events

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Andrea B. I extend a sincere and heartfelt appreciation for your continued patronage of the Park Place Hotel. And thank you very much for acknowledging the staff. We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Always enjoy staying at the Park Place, the staff have always treated me so well. This last time I thought maybe I should pick another hotel since there are so many choices in Traverse, but again the hotel keeps bringing me back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you, Andrea B. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to keeping you happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Noisy... Loud... Staff is rude. A number if the individuals in the bar were not even hotel guests??? At $250.00 + per night... Paying guests should have have the first opportunity to enjoy the tiny bar... Very disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Livetc, Thank you for your business. As you have experienced, the Beacon Lounge is very popular, and enjoyed by hotel guests and locals. Many are repeat customers, because of the ambiance, view and service we provide. I can understand your dismay, and appreciate your comments. Your review will be shared by the staff and supervisors.

I hope that you will consider visiting us again. If you do plan your visit around the same time as your visit this past January, our special rates do start at $89.95. Please feel free to contact us at anytime.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visted this hotel for a weekend getaway. It was a perfect location for walking around downtown. Just about a block off the main strip which is full of great shops and restaurants. It is also a good base camp if you want to explore the wineries on either peninsula. The hotel was clean and service was good. It is a few blocks from the water so if you are looking to be right on the beach, look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a great place to stay at a reasonable price- Park Place is your place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbyrd32412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for recent visit and comments. The Park Place islooking forward to another great year and hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed one night in the older tower of the hotel. Had a corner room on the eighth floor...great view, nicely updated, comfortable bed, very quiet. Restaurant food for dinner was good, with attentive waiter. Front desk staff helpful and pleasant. Perfect location for walking and exploring downtown Traverse City. Close to restaurants, shops, beach. However, a great feature of the hotel, the tenth floor bar, was not so great. The bar is actually quite small and a party/parties were gathered at almost all the tables. Was very noisy....too noisy to have a conversation without raising our voices. Also, when we came in the bartender totally ignored us. No greeting and "be with you in a minute". We even sat for a few minutes, thinking the ladies at the bar would be served and then he would speak to us. Nothing. We left. Don't go to the bar thinking to have a quiet drink and admire the gorgeous view of the city and Bay and get good service. This is why the rating is not better. Skip the bar and you will enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay at the hotel and the comments written. While we cannot increase the size of the Beacon Lounge, we will make adjustments so that the staff is more attentative to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemlock, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not only is the Park Place completely gorgeous with nicely updated rooms, but it is close to everything in Downtown Traverse City. Park your car and walk during your stay -- you will be close enough to great dining options, shopping, and plenty of bars serving great craft brews so that you get a real taste of this beautiful Northern Michigan town.

While you are there, be sure to check out the restaurant on the top floor. It offers beautiful views no matter the season!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are always happy when guest find their stay to be relaxing and enjoyable. Please return to Traverse City soon and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Property: Park Place Hotel
Address: 300 E State St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2517
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing