We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Updates needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Updates needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A fine dining restaurant is needed in this establishment and windows and/or insulation needed in the rooms and bathrooms. Freezing in the winter. Bathroom floor was fridgid and in order to stay warm in the bedroom, we needed to close the bathroom door and stuff a bath towel under the door to keep out the draft. Our room faced the bay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit and comments. The Park Place does have several updates coming to the hotel in 2013 to improve our guest's comfort and we look forward to another great year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    159
    99
    61
    41
See reviews for
71
169
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I make several trips a year to Traverse City and I always try to book a room at the Park Place Hotel. It's downtown location makes it an ideal place to say to experience all that TC has to offer. Restaurants, shops, the lake, etc. are all with in an easy walk. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. I prefer the historic wing to the "newer" wing. The rooms are small but clean and well maintained. Definitely my favorite place to stay in Traverse City!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemeg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We most certainly appreciate your recent stay at the hotel and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland, mi
Level Contributor
325 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Te wife and I stayed one night here. We wanted to explore the downtown area on foot and this is the only hotel that would allow this. Bed was comfortable, room was average, but had everything we needed. Bathroom was dated but clean. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it was packed on Saturday night. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent at the hotel. We hope that when you return to Traverse City, you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully located in the downtown area but is in need of basic updating in the rooms. The scent of cleaning supplies was overwhelming and if you had any kind of sensitivity you might have a problem. The bathroom mirror was in need of reglazing, the wallpaper was starting to peel and the tub was beyond description as it appeared to have been resurfaced and was peeling in many spots, most unappealing. Even though we had requested a certain wing of the hotel (by phone) they had not processed our request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
On behalf of The Park Place Hotel, we would think to thank you for your recent visit to the hotel. Beginning this year, the hotel is switching to different cleaning products, which should reduce the smell described above. All bathubs are scheduled to be refinished this year, along with other improvements to further upgrade the guest experience for our visitors this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is an older hotel but the rooms are very nice clean and updated. The shower was horrible. The water temp would go from cold to hot to cold to hot without me touching the temp settings at all. I had to dash in and out of the shower to rense off. The workout equipment was seriously from the 1980's. very used but it worked. The pool had green algae all over the base of the windows. Very gross! Not sure why management doesn't notice that and power wash it. If your looking just for a room then this is a great spot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatmandew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
The Park Place Hotel is appreciative of your stay here and the comments written. The health club equipment is inspected and maintained on a regular basis, but due to a recent equipment failure, excess moisture in the pool area resulted in the problem noted above. This issue has been resloved and we are soory that is was not taken care of during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past year. Each time the rooms were dirty, with the exception of the Presedential Suite. The last time I stayed in July, I ate as I always did in the hotel restraunt, Minervas. Despite several forgivable errors. This past time, I ate in the restraunt, It was confirmed by a Pharmicist I had food poisoning, and was sick all the way home. I contacted the Health Department in Traverse City, and spoke to the Inspector Mike, who happened to be there that particular day I ate there. He said he would talk to the restraunt mgr. and call me back. I never heard from him. I also called the Hotel Manager. I kept my concerns on a positive note, however, Ms. Amy Parker, the Mgr. was rude, had an arrogant and uncaring attitude towards my concerns. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is too expensive for what filth and lack of service it has to offer. There are too many hotels on the water that are in better condition for less money with more to offer. Park Place is HISTORY not considered historical.

Room Tip: Find a newer hotel on the water that has excellant service and customer relations mean reputation, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim42780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I appreciate the frankness of our guests, since it is a great way to gauge where we may have fallen short. Unfortunately, in your situation, I did not impart a feeling of empathy. So, for this I apologize. Immediately after receiving your information, we followed our procedure to investigate any possible cause of food poisoning. We went back to the dates you provided and found the chicken salad to have been fresh and no other report of illness from it's consumption reported. In fact, we did not receive any reports of illness from any of the meals we served.

We at the Park Place wish you glad tidings during this joyous season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My stay here was brief to be candid. The room and bathroom were both clean. And the service at the desk was very good. Hey, it is an old hotel with charm. Don't stay here if you are expecting a modern style hotel. Do stay here for the location and charm. I could see myself staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the rear of the hotel because it can be noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jooksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of The Park Place Hotel, we thank you for your visit to the hotel and your comments. We hope to see you next year if you visit Traverse City again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Property: Park Place Hotel
Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing