We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time at this beautiful B&B!”
Review of Whispering Waters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Waters
Ranked #8 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Driving down the grassy lane toward the property was the perfect introduction to this beautiful B&B. We enjoyed just wandering around the grounds, looking at the flowers, sitting near the river, and petting the cats. We stayed in the main house, which was very clean, cozy, and had lots of character. Our host, Brian, was informative, accommodating, and extremely helpful. We also had a great time just chatting and sharing stories with him! Did I mention he made a delicious breakfast? There is lots to do in the Traverse City area, whatever you like to do. We went wine tasting, visited the dunes, and enjoyed the great restaurants. It was the perfect location, only about ten minutes from Traverse City, but we still felt like we were out in the country. I highly recommend this B&B and hope you have as great a time as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amykilpatrick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stumbled upon Whispering Waters on tripadvisor while searching for a bed and breakfast that my girlfriend and I could stay at while in Traverse City over Memorial Day weekend. All the reviews seemed positive, and the atmosphere sounded on par with what we were looking for over the weekend - a chance to get away from the stresses of our lives in Chicago. What we experienced far exceeded anything I could have imagined getting out of a bed and breakfast.

We stayed in the cabin; if you're contemplating this versus the Spring House, do yourself a favor and select the cabin (that is, unless you have trouble climbing steep stairs or ladders). If you're looking for a romantic and private getaway, I can't imagine a more intimate experience. You're given your very own, and very original and quaint, old cabin, with its own yard, fire pit, and deck on the Boardman river. Imagine if you will: waking up in the sleeping loft with the windows cracked, seeing the early morning sun out of the skylights in the gables of the sleeping loft and listening to the variety of wild birds chirp. You climb the steps and start your pot of coffee, which you'll drink while sitting on the screened-in porche swing. This experience is advertised in many places, but rarely do you experience it in such purity as you do in Whispering Waters.

In addition, there are horses they pasture, an extra deck on the river for everyone's use as well as a larger fire pit - in case you're feeling outgoing towards the other guests - a path leading through the woods behind the meadow, and a gorgeous main house to lounge in if you so desire.

Brian and Juli are wonderful and down to earth; they're the perfect hosts for such an experience: passionate enough about the place they created, yet unobtrusive enough to let you enjoy it. Brian makes a great meal for you in the morning. It's not gourmet, which is honestly what we preferred: simple and delicious.

With as unique and natural an experience as this was, certain quirks were expected. For instance, the water in the cabin was well water and had a high iron content so it smell pretty metallic. Yet, they countered this by supplying a water cooler for drinking purposes, and the water was instantly hot thanks to a great water heater. Our towels smelled a bit mildewed when we arrived, but I told Brian and he apologetically and quickly replaced them for us. I felt bad for asking, to be honest, because everything else was so... perfect to what we had really wanted our trip to be.

Brian and Juli have created a place so magical, it transcends anything someone could merely produce. They planted a great foundation for the Michigan countryside to fill it in, add the depth of originality, and rejuvenate the soul with the natural qualities the vast majority of us lack in our daily lives. I left far more relaxed than I ever could have at any fancy spa I've been to; so relaxed that it was incredibly hard to leave.

So do yourself a favor: go to Whispering Waters. And make sure you "breathe in" the environment: sit in the meadow during dusk and watch the sun leave the trees, light a fire in the fire pit and listen to the river rushing by, and take in all the nature that surrounds you. If you don't, then you're not getting the full experience.

Room Tip: The cabin books up fast, so reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDimmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

If I am ever back in Traverse City, this is 100% where I will stay again. It is about 15 minutes from downtown, but it seems like you're off the map. It is very quiet--tranquil woods with no internet and only one shared tv in a "public room". But it has 40 acres of woods, you can wade the Boardman River, and it has a sauna and hot tub. Brian, the live-in caretaker, is an engaging man who cooks wonderful breakfasts.

If you are going to Traverse specifically to play on the somewhat-crowded beach or to browse the fudge and souvenir shops, you might want something in town. But if you are a bed/breakfast person who likes a beautiful log home with stone fireplace surrounded by comfort and serenity, you'll stay here.

Also, about 8 miles from Interlochen. If you are attending a concert or dropping off/picking up a child, this is a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calebindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My stay here was all too short. I barely had time to sample the fishing, put the binoculars on a few birds, take some photos and read a couple books before I had to leave. Brian is an excellent host, the breakfast was good (even though I left too early for the "full" meal) and I can't think of a more relaxing night's sleep. The lttle brook outside your open window will get you to dreamland quickly. Spend at least two nights here, I wish I had...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winston_Orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Great location. At the end of a small dirt road, off the beaten path, over a bridge across the fast flowing Boardman River. The arrival itself demonstrates that "retreat" is the proper word to apply to this B&B. The Innkeeper was great, very informative, and always hospitable and concerned about the quality of our stay. Went out of his way to ensure we had a special breakfast in our cabin on our last day due to our early departure. As incidated - we stayed in the cabin. This was the priciest choice available, but exceptional value for our own one room cabin, loft, porch swing, and view of the river. This is a rustic, retreat center with its own hiking trails, jacuzzi, and massage services (book in advance). It stays true to its "retreat" focus by not having TV, phones, or internet connections (wireless or otherwise) in the rooms. Depending on your carrier, even cell phone connections are spotty. There is obviously a landline for emergencies (both incoming and outgoing). If these items are an essential to you, then this is not the place to stay. If you can't wait to get away from these items - then this place needs to be on your short list. Mintues away from downtown TC without knowing it...close access to the TC trails network. For nature lovers that want to get away from it all, this is the place to go. Can't recommend it highly enough to those looking for quiet time away - even if for only a portion of a busy day around Traverse City.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

We have stayed at Whispering Waters for our birthday celebration for several years now. It's out in the middle of nowhere and it feels like it's your own place, especially if you stay in the very romantic Spring House Suite. It has a bath/jacuzzi where you can open the windows and hear the spring gurgling outside. There's no TV, no phone (at least not in your room), no motorcars whizzing by, but the luxury is amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MixNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Wonderful spot in the woods of Michigan south of Traverse City. Great breakfasts. Peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
7.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,440 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Aberdeen Stone Cottage B+B
Aberdeen Stone Cottage B+B
#5 of 19 in Traverse City
52 reviews
10.3 mi away
A Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
7 mi away
The Baywatch Resort
The Baywatch Resort
#10 of 19 in Traverse City
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Waters

Address: 2020 Sarns Rd, Traverse City, MI 49696-8234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing