We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Neat

Neat place to visit! The furthest point on the mission peninsula, right at the water's edge. Great... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TSSM2020
,
Holly
Mission Point Lighthouse

We drove up the peninsula to see the lighthouse on a beautiful sunny day. The fall colors were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
storyofpam
,
Howell, Michigan
Read all 885 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Traverse City
from $64.30
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
from $30.77
More Info
from $290.00
More Info
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveler rating
475
294
106
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
294
106
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house log cabin beautiful drive north pole climb the stairs small fee water level mile drive gift shop lake michigan beautiful view hiking trails beautiful beach well worth the trip nice stop great place to visit great lakes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 885 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Enjoyed visiting this lighthouse that is not in a state park ($9.00 entry fee). We did pay to do the "lighthouse tour" as we have done many of those before. We hiked some of the easy, beautiful trails.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank KatrinaD567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Beautiful views. Cute little lighthouse. That's about it. We started at the lighthouse and went to wineries afterwards. Good photo opportunities.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

It was so nice to see after our visit a couple of years ago that the water level has returned to this area. The lighthouse now charges a $4 fee to climb the 37 steps to the top. We thought that was ridiculous. The view is plenty good from the decking area for free!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Mary209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gschultz999, Manager at Mission Point Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

There is more museum on the 2nd floor and the 5th order fresnel lens and the tower climb too with awesome views. We need to charge a fee with lots of maintenance expenses for our nearly 150 year old house that is visited by more than 40,000 folks annually.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Always love the beautiful view and silence found at this historic location. Overall if you don't mind great views, and less people than you will see in the city, you will love this location. Not much as far as gas stations, so plan a picnic or snacks and have at least a 1/2 tank of gas.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank JMccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

A nice end to the winery stops along the peninsula. The view is fantastic. The old house in the woods is cool to see also.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank allornothinggrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews