We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

Mission Point Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful and quiet beach. Lovely to sit and watch the traffic on the lake go by. Lots of wildlife to see. Very relaxing.

The lighthouse is very simple, not very sophisticated as a museum and that's what is really nice about it.

Easy parking.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"light house"
in 67 reviews
"log cabin"
in 45 reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 42 reviews
"north pole"
in 16 reviews
"small fee"
in 16 reviews
"water level"
in 12 reviews
"peninsula drive"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 39 reviews
"lake michigan"
in 33 reviews
"beautiful view"
in 32 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 14 reviews
"lots of history"
in 8 reviews
"nice beach"
in 12 reviews
"well worth the trip"
in 9 reviews
"nice stop"
in 8 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 11 reviews
"both sides"
in 8 reviews
Filter

182 - 186 of 767 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2017

The lighthouse was cool to see in person, $4/person to go through the lighthouse does not seem like alot but it is very small and closed off inside. Very claustrophobic if there is alot of people inside. The beach and lake was just beautiful, the water was so clear and perfect! We did forget beach towels so I went to the lighthouse giftshop and surprisingly being on a beach they don't sell beach towels just blankets. So I had to buy a $20 blanket to dry my daughter off. Not the end of the world just seems like you would have towels being its on a beach. I would recommend going because it is very beautiful.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

This is a great spot... beautiful and plan to take pictures! We went as part of our exploration of Michigan wineries. You can go to a winery, then take a break at the Lighthouse, then go to another winery on your drive back. Gorgeous country!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank peggyh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

In Traverse City for the first time and our local friends took us to the Mission Point Light House. Not many people on a late Tuesday Morning so we enjoyed the short walk from the parking lot up to the Light House. We toured the light house and purchased a souvenir from small gift shop. Beautiful view of the lake and had a nice quiet visit of the grounds,

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017

The drive to this attraction is half the fun! Take your time going up one side of the peninsula and then return down the other side. Lots of places to stop on the way, but leave a little time to just rest and enjoy at this "end of the road" respite!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AuntNeeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Point Lighthouse also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Mission Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing