We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appetizers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Mesa Grill

Red Mesa Grill
Ranked #15 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Mexican and Latin American specialties served in a fun, lively and festive setting. Featuring the finest and largest selection of Tequila in the North and Michigan's best Margaritas.
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good appetizers. The porch on the outside was a great place to have a beer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIreland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    194
    81
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Patrick was our server, and although he seemed relatively inexperienced he was very attentive. They had excellent margaritas, and appetizers that were more like meals. Nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$3 margaritas and Tacos, Cool place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We visited on a Tuesday so they had a great deal on Margaritas and tacos. Food was good and place was so busy we had to wait about 15minutes for a table. We crossed road from Grand hotel, not recommended! Dangerous!

Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Great food but the alcoholic beverages are expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We arrived around 6:30 on a Friday night. They were very busy and we had to wait a bit for a table. It took a while for the waitress to get to our table and take our drink and food orders but the food was great. Several people in our party ordered burritos and they were huge and tasted great. This was our second time there in which I ordered an alcoholic beverage and didn't enjoy it much. This time I ordered a raspberry mojito and did not like it at all. The beverage was a big size but it was not at all light and refreshing. Half of the big glass was packed full of lots mint leaves, lime quarters and some big seeds in he bottom of the glass. It smelled and tasked like a pine tree and I could not drink it. Besides the food and the atmosphere, that is the only thing I did not enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great food from a diverse menu with some unique preparations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a family dinner with 7 people. The orders included fajitas, bean cakes, burritos and walleye. Everyone complemented the food. I had the walleye which is prepared covered with a nice corn - tomato salsa and broiled in a corn husk. It is accompanied by black beans and rice and mixed fresh vegetables. The preparation seemed risky to me when I read the menu, but I love walleye and being from Florida don't get to eat it oftern. It was wonderful. The "salsa" is does not contained heat from peppers and enhanced the flavor of a nice fresh fish. The meal also has the advantage of being a healthy selection. All of the servings were large and none were greasy as is sometimes encountered in Mexican-themed restaurants. The prices are also very reasonable. My walleye dish was the most expensive and was $19. The service was attentive, but did not intrude on our conversation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa Grill also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Red Mesa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing