We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarack Lodge stay”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tamarack Lodge stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a great place to stay. The beach is just outstanding along with the accommodations!! Extremely quite location. We always enjoy our time here.Brad at the front desk is always friendly and helpful. We enjoy the bon fires every night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lz694r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    23
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
75
91
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed here for a number of day each year and the standard has remained so consistent over the years we are very pleased , the traverse city is a.great place to visit there is so much to see and do . The Units have great aspect onto the bay ,there is a lovely private beach that never gets busy ,staff are helpful , it is very peaceful .the kids love the fire each night the smores ,the cookies each day ,the complimentary dvd selection to pull from , board games in the room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciaranobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family loved to stay here. Everything is top notch; decorations, accommodations, even shower has a jet bubble tub. Coffee, tea, hot cocoa are always ready in the lounge. I enjoyed coffee every morning after a long walk along the beach. Each unit is facing the lake, so don't worry about not getting a room with the view. The view is spectacular. My kids say a spacious condo in Cancun, Mexico with a beautiful ocean view is the most memorable, but this one is as good as the Cancun one (but less spacious).

Room Tip: I requested a high floor unit, but some request the first floor so that they can go out to beach rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HannaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Tamarac Lodge is a beautiful facility, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen is a great size. Everything is top notch within the rooms décor wise. If you needed or wanted to stay in Traverse City for an extended stay, this would be the place to do it, but be aware that there is not a facility restaurant, etc. In other words, you have to prepare meals at the facility or go out. One other con that came up during our stay occurred late one evening when several individuals were outside of the facility on the beach…drunk and very loud. At 10:00 this is not a problem, but at 1:00 in the morning management should really have stepped in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirstin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tamarack Lodge is a fantastic resort. Everything is top notch!!!! A lot of little touches you don't get anywhere else. All the amenities of home and many more. Activities for the kids and adults. Wine and cheese reception, movie night, and s'mores on the beach every night to name just a few. Condos are very spacious clean and comfortable. This is the place to stay in TC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family (8) just spent a week here (July 2013). We have been coming up to Traverse City for over ten years and this is the best place by far that we have slept. Wonderful staff, gorgeous room (3 bedroom) and view, nice beach, and shallow for a ways out into East Grand Traverse Bay. In fact every room in the place has the same view.

Every night there is a campfire with complementary smores, Every day has activities for kids but also for adults/couples. Complementary wine tasting on Tuesday nights with a local winery hosting and giving tips.

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is only 30 minutes away and there must be 25 nice wineries within 20-40 minutes away also. Top golf courses are also close by along with fishing charters.

But the highlight was always coming back to Tamarack. Very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Feels like a second home with the friendly staff. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: There are only about 29 rooms so it is quiet on all 5 floors. The higher the floor, the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location on east bay was quieter than west bay so very good for families. Drive to 'downtown' about 15 minutes. There is a bike path a block away. There is a rental shop for boats, jet skis, tubing next door. The airport is about 3 miles away. There is a gas station across the street which has basics for groceries (milk, eggs, oj). The larger supermarket is about 4 mile away. Accommodations are lodge-like with upgraded bathrooms (rain showerhead with plenty of hot water). Tamarack Lodge provides activities for kids like smores/cookies/readings/campfire. Beds and sleeper couch are comfortable. Kitchens are fully equipped. There is no gym facility. Bar and pool table in the lobby. Overall a really good stay with family and kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djgyuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,064 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
345 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 2035 US-31 N at Four Mile Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the sugar-sand beaches lining 800 feet of sparkling blue Lake Michigan shoreline, Tamarack Lodge resort hotel suites are consistently rated by guests as one of the best luxury resort hotels on the Traverse City waterfront. Offering unparalleled panoramic views of the bay, this impeccably crafted and elegantly appointed Traverse City resort condominium lodge captures the true Up-North spirit, making it the perfect home-away-from-home to explore the Midwest's premier four-season playground. With its distinctive arts and crafts era architecture, Tamarack Lodge is reminiscent of the grand turn-of-the-century lodges, with careful consideration given to modern comfort and convenience. The one-, two- and three-bedroom condominium residences are thoughtfully appointed with: full-size custom kitchens and laundry facilities; private balconies offering sweeping water views; spa-inspired bathrooms; air-jetted soaking and Jacuzzi tubs; premium linens and towels; gas fireplaces; flat-screen TVs with cable and DVD players; wireless internet; 24-hour front desk staff; and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing