We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Traverse City”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Tamarac Lodge is a beautiful facility, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen is a great size. Everything is top notch within the rooms décor wise. If you needed or wanted to stay in Traverse City for an extended stay, this would be the place to do it, but be aware that there is not a facility restaurant, etc. In other words, you have to prepare meals at the facility or go out. One other con that came up during our stay occurred late one evening when several individuals were outside of the facility on the beach…drunk and very loud. At 10:00 this is not a problem, but at 1:00 in the morning management should really have stepped in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirstin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tamarack Lodge is a fantastic resort. Everything is top notch!!!! A lot of little touches you don't get anywhere else. All the amenities of home and many more. Activities for the kids and adults. Wine and cheese reception, movie night, and s'mores on the beach every night to name just a few. Condos are very spacious clean and comfortable. This is the place to stay in TC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lkhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family (8) just spent a week here (July 2013). We have been coming up to Traverse City for over ten years and this is the best place by far that we have slept. Wonderful staff, gorgeous room (3 bedroom) and view, nice beach, and shallow for a ways out into East Grand Traverse Bay. In fact every room in the place has the same view.

Every night there is a campfire with complementary smores, Every day has activities for kids but also for adults/couples. Complementary wine tasting on Tuesday nights with a local winery hosting and giving tips.

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is only 30 minutes away and there must be 25 nice wineries within 20-40 minutes away also. Top golf courses are also close by along with fishing charters.

But the highlight was always coming back to Tamarack. Very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Feels like a second home with the friendly staff. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: There are only about 29 rooms so it is quiet on all 5 floors. The higher the floor, the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location on east bay was quieter than west bay so very good for families. Drive to 'downtown' about 15 minutes. There is a bike path a block away. There is a rental shop for boats, jet skis, tubing next door. The airport is about 3 miles away. There is a gas station across the street which has basics for groceries (milk, eggs, oj). The larger supermarket is about 4 mile away. Accommodations are lodge-like with upgraded bathrooms (rain showerhead with plenty of hot water). Tamarack Lodge provides activities for kids like smores/cookies/readings/campfire. Beds and sleeper couch are comfortable. Kitchens are fully equipped. There is no gym facility. Bar and pool table in the lobby. Overall a really good stay with family and kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djgyuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful rooms, all with direct views of the bay. We spent 5 days exploring the area on day trips, but loved coming back to the Tamarack every evening. Ample space, comfy beds, lovely bathrooms, and having a full kitchen was a great asset. Nice beach space and activities for kids, but equally appealing to couples looking for a relaxing quiet stay. The only drawback was the busy and ill-repaired highway running in front of the building. Good thing that all rooms face the rear!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kk5168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Loved the lodge. Rooms were great, views were awesome! Very clean rooms and spacious living room. Only odd thing was in check in they gave us a room which was occupied at first. Was a sloppy mistake but was quickly rectified though it was a little unsettling.

Still everything else was great! Bathrooms were very large, beds were very comfy and house keeping ran the dishwasher when we were out. Can't ask for much more. Cookies and Cheese and wine were offered also when we were there. Nice touch.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if you can...view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over memorial weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was our first time in Traverse City, and we really thought it was beautiful. So scenic. We stayed at the 2-br blue spruce room, with a beautiful lakefront view. Enjoyed watching the sunset at 9:15pm both nights from our balcony. Party of 4 adults, 2 kids, as my husband and I travelled with my 68-yr old mom, 55-yr old aunt, and our girls, ages 2 and 8. We ate all our meals inside our unit, except when we went to have lunch at Glen Arbor after visiting the Sleeping Bear Dunes. Top of the line kitchen, clean unit, beautiful furniture, comfy beds, friendly staff, and an amazing view. Pool would give it 5 stars, but we would stay there again, without it! Bowers Harbor Vineyards also just a short drive. We'll be back with the rest of our family!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernweh_ABS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,438 reviews
3.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 2035 US-31 N at Four Mile Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the sugar-sand beaches lining 800 feet of sparkling blue Lake Michigan shoreline, Tamarack Lodge resort hotel suites are consistently rated by guests as one of the best luxury resort hotels on the Traverse City waterfront. Offering unparalleled panoramic views of the bay, this impeccably crafted and elegantly appointed Traverse City resort condominium lodge captures the true Up-North spirit, making it the perfect home-away-from-home to explore the Midwest's premier four-season playground. With its distinctive arts and crafts era architecture, Tamarack Lodge is reminiscent of the grand turn-of-the-century lodges, with careful consideration given to modern comfort and convenience. The one-, two- and three-bedroom condominium residences are thoughtfully appointed with: full-size custom kitchens and laundry facilities; private balconies offering sweeping water views; spa-inspired bathrooms; air-jetted soaking and Jacuzzi tubs; premium linens and towels; gas fireplaces; flat-screen TVs with cable and DVD players; wireless internet; 24-hour front desk staff; and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing