We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Peak Brewing Company

North Peak Brewing Company
Ranked #13 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: North Peak is a fantastic brew pub with a culinary experience like no other. North Peak has burgers, seafood, steaks, pizzas and the best hand-crafted micro-brew around. Our restaurant is kid friendly and has something for everyone. You can head downstairs after dinner for live music at Kilkenny's Irish Pub in our lower level below North Peak. No need to go anywhere else! We have all the good food, fun, music and beer you will ever need all in one building. Hope to see you soon.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had dinner at this location while on vacation in Traverse City Michigan and were not disappointed. The decor is pleasant and there are a variety of offerings. My husband said the Monte Cristo sandwich he ate was the best he EVER had, and he doesn't talk about food that much! The rest of us enjoyed our soups and salads, and we really enjoyed the craft beer samplers! I would definitely go back next time we visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kadie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management741, Guest Relations Manager at North Peak Brewing Company, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Kadie O,

Thanks for visiting North Peak and taking the time to write a review. The Monte Cristo is a menu favorite and we're glad to hear your husband enjoyed it. We pride ourselves on offering a diverse selection of menu items and frequently rotate our beer selections. Next time you are in Traverse City we hope you come in and dine with us again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    376
    109
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
192 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Bartender's Bad Attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stopped here on our self guided "brew pub tour" and WOW were we disappointed. This was our fourth stop and every other place we visited could not have been more friendly. The bartender at North Peak was not helpful and darn right rude. I hope she was just having a bad day, but it was so bad my wife did not want to finish her beer. We tried a couple times to ask her for some assistance with the beers of our flights (tasters), but she just put a sheet in front of us and kept telling us to just pick some. We ended up walking out and going downstairs to Kilkenny's which was awesome.

Same owners - two totally different experiences.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management741, Guest Relations Manager at North Peak Brewing Company, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi JeffB32,

First off thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback from our guests. We want to apologize for your bad experience and hopefully you will give us another shot to make things right. We pride ourselves on our guest service and this experience is not up to our standards. Please feel free to call our General Manager, Mike Lloyd at 231.941.7325 or email him at NorthPeak@Mission86.com. We hope you'll come back and give us another chance. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We've had a variety of food and beer here over the years & have never been disappointed!
We'll keep coming back for more!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LovinBeechLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management741, Guest Relations Manager at North Peak Brewing Company, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi BeechLovers02,

Thanks for the review and for being a frequent customer. We love hearing from fans of our restaurant. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your visits please don't hesitate to let us know. We frequently add to our menu and are always featuring unique specials, so come back and see us soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
782 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I really enjoyed my evening here. I came for dinner and was impressed with their list of locally inspired meals including local Fish & Chips.
They have an excellent selection of their own brewed beer and the sampler is a good way to try some of these.
The seating was comfortable and the atmosphere was great.
Service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management741, Guest Relations Manager at North Peak Brewing Company, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi James B,

Thanks for visiting North Peak and for writing a review. We pride ourselves on our service and great menu. Glad to hear you were able to try some of our beers by ordering our sampler. The fish & chips are always a good choice as well. We have an extremely diverse menu, so hopefully the next time you are in town you can come back and try some more of our menu items. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia
2 reviews
“Terrible everything”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We tried going to North Peak back in November when we were visiting and it was packed, so on our visit this time we decided to get there a bit earlier and make sure we could get in. When we sat at the bar, there were 3 bartenders, and one greeted us semi-quickly, but didn't really "greet" us. He set bev naps down and didn't say a word and had a blank expression on his face. So finally breaking the silence, I ordered a drink and my boyfriend wasn't ready, so he gave him a second. When he finally took his drink order (beer flight), he seemed rather annoyed. I work in a bar, so I'm used to having people order beer flights/not fully knowing what they want, but our bartender seemed impatient on his order. After we ordered dinner, he brought us bread (literally the only GOOD thing about this place) and not even 10 minutes later our entrees came (1/2 chicken and a medium-cooked ribeye). Potatoes were very dry and my chicken was dry as well. The steak was cooked OK, but didn't have much flavor for being a ribeye. After finishing with dinner, the only thing we wanted to do was leave and go downstairs to continue cocktailing/play pool. I put my debit card out on the bar in full view, and each bartender walked past it at least 5 times. We waited a good 15 minutes to tab-out. We are very low-key people when we dine out, just want the basics...full drinks at all times and acknowledgment as diners. We had to ask for things more than once, and we were never offered fresh beverages. Not sure if the weather is putting the staff in "debbie-downer" moods, or if they just don't enjoy being there, but we won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Rae727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Peak Brewing Company also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to North Peak Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing