We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antiquities' Wellington Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

What a great find! The house itself looks like a southern plantation home. Inside, we felt that we should be wearing our turn-of-the-century attire. Our room was beautifully decorate and spacious. The breakfast was delicious, and there are complimentary drinks and snacks in the third floor ballroom. You're walking distance to the restaurants and shops in downtown. Barb and Hank, the owners, really took care of us. They even loaned us folding chairs to use for the outdoor films at the Traverse City Film Festival. We will definitely return the next time we visit this great area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Wellington Inn for a much needed long weekend away. What a terrific B&B! The owners were so friendly and helpful. The whole house was beautiful, clean, and really interesting. We stayed in the Munson Chamber which has a little balcony off the front of the house - it was nice to have easy access to outdoor space. It was so relaxing to sit out there together, reading and having a glass of wine each night before dinner.

The breakfasts were awesome - we would only eat a snack or two during the day - otherwise we didn't need to eat anything until dinner. The B&B has complimentary water, soda, beer, and wine available all day as well as cookies, crackers, granola bars, candy, etc. They have wireless internet which was easy to use - great connection. The location of the inn is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, waterfront, etc. We were even able to walk to a bike rental shop one day where we rented bikes ($20/day) and rode up to Suttons Bay and back on trails. Another day we drove over to the Sleeping Bear Dunes (maybe a 25 minute drive) and climbed up the sand dunes.

All of the restaurants that we went to were really good too - North Peak Brewing Company, Firefly, and Jolly Pumpkin.

I hope we can get back to the Wellington Inn again - it was more than we normally spend on lodging but it was so worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Wellington Inn was the perfect place for my husband and I to stay on our anniversary. It is absolutely stunning. Barb and Hank the hosts are so pleasant and welcoming. We felt welcome and comfortable the moment we walked in the door. The rooms are very nicely appointed in period furniture, but not overly decorated so that you are afraid to move around. It's perfectly done. Every room is just beautiful. The breakfasts are amazing and the dining room is well-situated for meeting other guests and sharing a nice breakfast. Everything is exceptionally clean and well thought out. The Inn is within easy walking distance to downtown Traverse City, yet you still feel tucked away at the Inn. It was quiet and peaceful - and perfectly comfortable. We can't wait to go back and stay again. It is by far our favorite bed and breakfast experience. We absolutely hated to leave. If you're heading to Traverse City for a getaway weekend this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The pictures don't do the Wellington justice. It is even more beautiful in person. Every room is decorated in stunning antique furnishings. It is large enough to not feel like you are sleeping in someone else's home but cozy enough that you never want to leave. The Inn keeper, Barbara was a pleasant and attentive hostess. Her thoughtfulness far exceeded my expectations. I have many food allergies and she and her staff went out of their way to make me special meals and buy me special snacks. The food was great...baked butternut squash with cinnamon apples and cherries, fabulous quiche, French toast, fresh fruit parfaits...the list goes on. Between the bubble bath in a giant antique tub, sitting out on the porch in the sunshine and all of the great stores and restaurants within walking distance it is worth every penny. I really have no idea why you would stay anywhere else...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlcbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Wellington Inn is a great bed and breakfast located a short walk from Traverse City's downtown and waterfront. It is a perfect location to enjoy all that Traverse City has to offer, shops, restaurants, the beach and more. The Inn has been beautifully restored. Our room had every amenity including a large balcony and two person jetted tub in the bathroom. If you need more room, the carriage house offers two apartments as well.
I would definitely recommend treating yourself to a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

A group of us spent a wonderful weekend in Traverse City for the First Comedy Festival and had a great stay at the Wellington. The location is close to everything and Barb and Hank take care of everything for your stay. The Inn is very cozy and our room was spacious and made for a great getaway from Chicago. Breakfast was AMAZING too. We're all looking forward to coming back up there again for the movie festival too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

From the moment we pulled up to Wellington Inn, I knew it was going to be a special weekend. Barb and Hank were gracious hosts-- extremely welcoming and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Barb certainly knows her way around the kitchen, as breakfast almost looked too pretty to eat.... although we managed to clean our plates every morning! Our room was charming, warm, and romantic.... and I was sure to make use of the bubble jet bath in our private bathroom. The Inn was a short walk from downtown Traverse City, and peninsula wineries with breathtaking views were only a 10 minute car ride. We will definitely be back to this unique B&B!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank k8moser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
3.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiquities' Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiquities' Wellington Inn

Address: 230 Wellington St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $195 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-restored 1905 neoclassical mansion with nine guestrooms featuring period furnishings and private baths. Full breakfast served in turn-of-the-century dining room. Complimentary guest kitchen and wireless internet. Two vintage 2-bedroom carriage house apartments available. Walk 2 blocks to downtown beaches, restaurants, shopping and antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing