We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Better B&B Will be Hard to Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antiquities' Wellington Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A stay at a B&B is such a different and pleasurable experience compared to any hotel. No B&B demonstrates this better than the Wellington Inn. Set in a neighborhood filled with Victorian-era homes, this historic home has been lovingly and authentically restored to reflect the time when it was built. Each room has been individually and tastefully decorated with Victorian furniture and antiques. The innkeepers, Barb and Hank, provide a family-like atmosphere that encourages visitors to talk and share tales of travel over delicious and filling breakfasts. Plenty of stories are available about the home and its place in Traverse City history. A long-time Traverse City resident, Barb can answer any question you can think of regarding local attractions and restaurants. Bonus: you can walk to Traverse City’s lively downtown which is filled with great shopping and fine restaurants. We have now been regular guests here for the past seven years and cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Munson Chamber has its own lovely second floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank varneyelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. The Inn is the perfect match if one appreciates antiques, Victorian-styled furniture and ornate furnishings.
The Inn is well kept, clean and the innkeepers (Barb & Hank) are a delight - super nice, informative, friendly and full of tips on what to do or where to have a good meal.
I agree with the other reviewer who mentioned the pillows were not good/comfortable (foam, too hard and high).
The Inn is so amazing, it would be a small investment to create a pillow library to offer guests with a choice.
I’m saying this but it never occurred to me to ask whether they had other choices, so I don’t want to be unfair in case they already have it.
We were offered to see the adjoining carriage house which offers 2 independent apts – it is also a great choice for when one has extended family or wants to be more independent (without inhabiting the same “grand house”). These 2 units come with kitchen and one can feel “at home’ preparing their own meals.
The Inn overall is cozy and all rooms are beautifully restored and furnished – they are all different in style – ask to look at the choices at check in to see which one suits your taste better.
Breakfast is included but it is not the usual buffet style; you will be served gourmet meals in the formal dining room (menu varies, one day we had fruits and homemade quiche and sausages, the other was homemade pancakes). If you have food allergies or dislikes, make sure you let them know in advance.
All in all, I would recommend and probably come back, but it is not a suitable option for couples too young, for people that like a modern style, for people with children or with anyone with severe disabilities as there is no elevator or ramp and rooms are basically on the 2nd and 3rd floors (stairs only).

Room Tip: Ask to see available options at check in. All are ornately decorated, but it all depends on taste (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My daughters, daughter in law and I had a marvelous stay at the Wellington. Since there were four of us we stayed in the Carriage House in the French Country Room. Breakfast was not included in this rental (additional charge if desired) as we had our own kitchen, however, Barb filled the cookie jar each day with the most delightful white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. Barb also left us a package of delicious scones for Sunday morning. The French Country Room is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. You won't be dissappointed if you book this room.The entire property, as well as the room we stayed , was impeccablly clean. We had a short walk into Traverse City and toured the quaint shopping streets and visited several restaurants during our stay. We also had the time to tour the many wineries on the Old Mission Peninsula.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a marvelous experience! The children gave us a gift certificate for Christmas and we used it not ever having spent time at a bed & breakfast before. 'What an amazing experience.....clean....quiet....and friendly. Great history too. The breakfasts were delicious. It was the most relaxing stay I think we've ever had. Would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathrynl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can reccomend that you stay here if you are in Traverse City. More of an old house than a hotel. The rooms are all furnished in the old style. The interior of the hotel is all very well furnished as are the rooms.

Barb and Hank are both very welcoming. The breakfast is exceptional and will keep you going for most of the day!

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from the main shopping and eating area, 5 minutes from the lake . Their is also ample guest parking

Their are many restaurants nearby.
We would definately return hear if we ever get back to Traverse City.

Room Tip: Not that many rooms, book any one that you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capri086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our stay was absolutely lovely. The rooms were wonderfully decorated and were so well cared for. The place was immaculate. The owners and managers were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good .... The best French toast we have ever had. Location was perfect for walking to local restaurants and other downtown sites and activities. Plan to return to the Wellingon ....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I visited the Wellington earlier this year and loved it so much I brought my husband back to it to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. We weren't disappointed. This is among the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in. It's lovely, immaculately clean, beautifully restored/furnished, and within walking distance to the Traverse City downtown area. The food is great and Barb, the innkeeper, is just a wonderful host and a very friendly, warm lady.

This time we stayed in a room with the old fashioned bath and a small balcony. We loved sitting on the balcony to read before breakfast and take in the surrounding neighborhood, which is equally beautiful.

My only recommendation for improvement (and why I didn't give 5 stars) is the bed/pillows. The mattress in this room (and the last I stayed in) is a little worn and very, very soft. Our backs were killing us each morning and it was hard to get comfortable. The pillows are also foam (no feather option) and quite hard. That is not a great combo. It was quite uncomfortable and I didn't sleep well, nor did my husband. It would be easy to fix.

At the least, I would recommend that guests travel with their favorite pillow if they can.

I hope that doesn't put a cloud over this review or this Inn because I still would come back without hesitation. It's my experience.

Room Tip: If you like the "old fashioned" bath with huge tubs, make sure you get one of the rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashmerequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#11 of 40 in Traverse City
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
223 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiquities' Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiquities' Wellington Inn

Address: 230 Wellington St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $195 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-restored 1905 neoclassical mansion with nine guestrooms featuring period furnishings and private baths. Full breakfast served in turn-of-the-century dining room. Complimentary guest kitchen and wireless internet. Two vintage 2-bedroom carriage house apartments available. Walk 2 blocks to downtown beaches, restaurants, shopping and antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing