We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antiquities' Wellington Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon, Michigan
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My daughters, daughter in law and I had a marvelous stay at the Wellington. Since there were four of us we stayed in the Carriage House in the French Country Room. Breakfast was not included in this rental (additional charge if desired) as we had our own kitchen, however, Barb filled the cookie jar each day with the most delightful white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. Barb also left us a package of delicious scones for Sunday morning. The French Country Room is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. You won't be dissappointed if you book this room.The entire property, as well as the room we stayed , was impeccablly clean. We had a short walk into Traverse City and toured the quaint shopping streets and visited several restaurants during our stay. We also had the time to tour the many wineries on the Old Mission Peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
166
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
redford
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a marvelous experience! The children gave us a gift certificate for Christmas and we used it not ever having spent time at a bed & breakfast before. 'What an amazing experience.....clean....quiet....and friendly. Great history too. The breakfasts were delicious. It was the most relaxing stay I think we've ever had. Would certainly go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kathrynl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk. Scotland.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can reccomend that you stay here if you are in Traverse City. More of an old house than a hotel. The rooms are all furnished in the old style. The interior of the hotel is all very well furnished as are the rooms.

Barb and Hank are both very welcoming. The breakfast is exceptional and will keep you going for most of the day!

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from the main shopping and eating area, 5 minutes from the lake . Their is also ample guest parking

Their are many restaurants nearby.
We would definately return hear if we ever get back to Traverse City.

Room Tip: Not that many rooms, book any one that you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capri086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our stay was absolutely lovely. The rooms were wonderfully decorated and were so well cared for. The place was immaculate. The owners and managers were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good .... The best French toast we have ever had. Location was perfect for walking to local restaurants and other downtown sites and activities. Plan to return to the Wellingon ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I visited the Wellington earlier this year and loved it so much I brought my husband back to it to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. We weren't disappointed. This is among the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in. It's lovely, immaculately clean, beautifully restored/furnished, and within walking distance to the Traverse City downtown area. The food is great and Barb, the innkeeper, is just a wonderful host and a very friendly, warm lady.

This time we stayed in a room with the old fashioned bath and a small balcony. We loved sitting on the balcony to read before breakfast and take in the surrounding neighborhood, which is equally beautiful.

My only recommendation for improvement (and why I didn't give 5 stars) is the bed/pillows. The mattress in this room (and the last I stayed in) is a little worn and very, very soft. Our backs were killing us each morning and it was hard to get comfortable. The pillows are also foam (no feather option) and quite hard. That is not a great combo. It was quite uncomfortable and I didn't sleep well, nor did my husband. It would be easy to fix.

At the least, I would recommend that guests travel with their favorite pillow if they can.

I hope that doesn't put a cloud over this review or this Inn because I still would come back without hesitation. It's my experience.

Room Tip: If you like the "old fashioned" bath with huge tubs, make sure you get one of the rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashmerequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a beautiful bed and breakfast! It is so charming and comfortable. We stayed one night in the Munson chamber. It is a great room; it has the small balcony over the front door. It also has a fireplace and spacious bathroom. Upstairs there is a rec room with a small kitchen stocked with coffee, water, cookies, pop, beer, wine... Just what we needed to relax after our four hour drive here! My husband and I enjoyed a beer on our balcony. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh strawberries topped with homemade whipped cream, blueberry pancakes, and bacon. All quests eat at the same time which is nice, since it sort of forces you to be social! Barb is a very friendly and attentive host. You can walk to most places from here, so it is really a perfect and peaceful location to explore downtown Traverse City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ead_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were lucky enough to book a room for two nights at the Wellington Inn and have only good things to say about it. The inn itself is a pleasure to walk around and is beautifully maintained. The innkeepers were friendly, informative about places to visit and very thoughtful. The breakfast served daily was delightful, and the "family" seating gave us an opportunity to meet some of the other guests. With respect to cleanliness, our room was very clean. The location was very convenient to restaurants and the town. I recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apl050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiquities' Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiquities' Wellington Inn

Property: Antiquities' Wellington Inn
Address: 230 Wellington St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2610
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-restored 1905 neoclassical mansion with nine guestrooms featuring period furnishings and private baths. Full breakfast served in turn-of-the-century dining room. Complimentary guest kitchen and wireless internet. Two vintage 2-bedroom carriage house apartments available. Walk 2 blocks to downtown beaches, restaurants, shopping and antiques. Elegant ballroom available for weddings, business retreats and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing