We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Stella

Trattoria Stella
Ranked #8 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This little hidden gem is well worth the extra effort to find it. The ambience, food, wine list and service were all excellent. The heirloom tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad was awesome, my fish was fresh, tender, sweet and yummy. Husband had a to die for veal chop with the best mushrooms we ever tasted. The service was great- there was a problem with the expresso machine so our coffee was comp'd without us even asking. These people know how to cook and run a restaurant ! Awesome job-thank you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank my2greenize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    191
    86
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“#1”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The best place to dine in Traverse City, very unique restaurant , our Family rated #1 Trattolia Stella in travel experencie, good , delicius , organic , food. Menu changes here every time we stop here - awsome!Everything is good here! 1000% recomanded.Make a rezervation in advance - crowded all the time!!!!

Helpful?
Thank vaidas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

It was great. The waitress was nice and the food was good. The wine was amazing. It is definitely a 5 star restaurant. We had a great time here.

Helpful?
Thank Sirrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

this is by no means as good as the reviews would indicate .The location is nice ,service is good .We have eaten here before it has deteriorated .I had mussels they were tasty but small had better elsewhere such as torch Riviera which had great mussels. My main course was a vast mound of tasteless pasta with three small balls of tasty ground up lamb which must have cost 50 cents to make .Desert was chewy meringue which was awful. my wife had artichoke bottoms which was good ,main course was messaluna which was average .A Friend had the cod and another had the heirloom tomatoes and pizza which was tasteless ,specials cost up to 40$ .cost was 110$ for two including wine .Its sort of a mixture of poor Italian and farm to table ,and cant make up its mind what it is ,lots of bizarre items on the menu like brain etc

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arh0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must go”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Recommended to us and did not disappoint. Great waitperson in bar area. We shared mussels, heirloom tomato/mozzarella salad and red flatbread pizza. All were delicious. Great menu, drinks too. Cool architectural history.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Stella also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Trattoria Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing