We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful creative menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Stella

Trattoria Stella
Ranked #8 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful creative menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Want to try something new in a meal....not just fried foods? Trattoria Stella in the Traverse City Commons near the Munsing Medical Centre is an experience in eating. Give yourself some time to visit the many unique shops down the halls of the building next to the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Microtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    191
    86
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dinner at the Insane Asylum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My first trip to Traverse City and my first visit to Stella's. I came with my niece who lives in Farmington Hills, MI with her family. She had told me the story of the former location where Stella's is located which added to the charm and ambiance of the restaurant. I loved every bite and every sip of the locally sourced Riesling wine we shared! Thank you to the entire staff for a fantastic experience. I will be back, the next time with my husband. We are retired in Mexico, but Traverse City is a must visit for us again!!! Donna C

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Insanely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This restaurant delivered on every level. We arrived on the dot for our 7pm reservations and was not seated until nearly 8:30 - but not a single person in our 10 person party was upset with this. As many have noted, this is the kind of restaurant in which people take their time and enjoy their evening - we certainly did the same and closed down the restaurant. The hostess communicated with us the whole time, managed to squeeze us in at a tightly packed bar and even took care of our first drink.

The experience continued through the rest of the meal - amazing and knowledgable service, unbeatable ambiance and delectable food and wine. We loved the experience so much - we're driving the 4 hours up to go back for me birthday in a few months.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xTopherStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This little hidden restaurant is a very cool place for several reasons.
First, the food was simply delicious. There were 5 of us and we all had something different and we all loved our choices. The menu is a little discombobulating but if you can figure it out there is good stuff. Second, they owners try and use only Michigan and if possible, local to Traverse City food sources. Last but not least...the atmosphere. It's in the lower level of what used to be the Traverse City State Hospital...yes, the building used to house an asylum. The entire grounds of the hospital are being re-purposed and they are doing a beautiful job turning it into shops, apartments, restaurants etc... Next time your in TC, maybe for the film festival, give it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington hills, MI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our First Stop . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

whenever we arrive in Traverse City! This is without a doubt our favorite restaurant in Michigan. We always look forward to eating at Stella, because the food is so creative, always delicious, and the service is great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me&Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Stella also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Trattoria Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing