We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the low point in our Michigan vacation.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn on the Bay
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
West Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This was the low point in our Michigan vacation.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had issues traveling and consequently arrived later than we planned. Received a phone call from the owner's wife en route asking us if we were still coming, and upon our arrival found him to be extremely irritated and rude. This was not late at night but at about 6;30. After giving us a key, he left the premises and we did not see him again during our two day stay. The room that looked so cute online had walls that were paper thin--we could hear our neightbor's every word. The parking was basically non-existant and on gravel. The beach area is across a major road. we were very disappointed and will not be back or recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Anchor Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Mary,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We welcome all feedback as this is the only way we know what we are doing right and where we can improve.
First, I would like to apologize if I came off as rude. It certainly wasn't intentional and is not my nature.
In regards to not seeing me after check in, Sara and I are at the Inn most of day, as we do most of the housekeeping and maintenance, but most of our guests aren't, as they are out enjoying the attractions of the Grand Traverse area. We are always accessible as we carry a cell phone and live 4 minutes away.
The entrance to our property is paved, but the parking lot is crushed stone. It stays cooler and is much better for dissipating the water after a hard rain. The parking lot is tight when we have a full house, but we want to keep a balance between parking area and our green area which is one of the attractions of our property. We are working on creating some auxiliary parking behind the units in the near future.
Yes, our beach is across M-22, a two-lane state road. This is shown on the map in our brochure and explained to anyone when taking a reservation.
Walls between the units are 8" concrete, with the windows open in the spring it is possible to have some noise transmission, but we have had very few complaints over the years that we have owned the Inn.
We purchased the Anchor Inn 2-1/2 years ago and have made significant improvements, many which have been suggested by our clients. Our goal is to make this a place people want to return to year after year. Again, thank you for your input and I hope this helps to explain some of your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cool cabins and rooms with great outdoor and common areas. Great place for families, groups, anyone. Comfortable beds, fresh flowers. Friendly and knowledgeable owners. Great yard with fire pit, games, and nice beach. Great nap in the hammock! Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The cabins were amazingly clean and very cute! There were fresh flowers throughout the cabin.Our friends were here from France for their honeymoon. The owners put wine and chocolates in their cabin...it was a sweet touch. We will rent again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherinewilloughby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This cute little place met all of our vacation needs. The manager gave us maps and recommendations to vineyards and restaurants. He also had a few books, magazines and board games to borrow.
The room was clean, and after we turned up the heater, warm. Our room came with a mini fridge, coffee maker and wine bottle opener, so we had everything we needed. I called around and this was the best price out there, plus it is a little farther from the road than many other hotels and motels in the area. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We chose this place because of the good reviews on trip adviser. We weren't disappointed, it was what we expected, an older establishment, but very clean and comfortable, just what we were looking for away from the crowds. It was off season so very quite and we couldn't believe how well we slept at night. It was about 2 miles from Traverse City where we had some great meals. We could go out and experience the sights, Dunes, Old mission Penninula, etc and come back at the end of the day and relax. Cozy places outside to sit. We are geocachers and found lots to keep us busy on our hikes. A great vacation that ended to soon. If ever in the area again we would stay at this establishment again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #114, which faces the lake, nice view especially in the morning when the sun is coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a cute little old timey Inn at a bargain price, just outside of town. We were able to get one of their newly renovated rooms, a small but nicely appointed room with a queen bed. It was so cozy, fresh, clean and comfortable. If you don’t like small rooms, not a choice for you, so try one of the others, but perfect for us and with A/C! The property has a combination of motel rooms and cottages. Chairs, Picnic tables and grills are right outside the door. A playground for the kids, hammock, badminton court and horseshoe court are on the other side of the parking area. A WONDERFUL, PRIVATE Beach is across the road, with Adirondack chairs ready for you to put your toes in the sand! Bring a flashlight so you can come out and enjoy the stars at night…A Romantic Delight!

Room Tip: oops...didn't mean to click the swimming pool, there isn't one, but there is the beach...bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were traveling from Sizzlin' Hot Texas to Michigan & stayed at Anchor Inn on the Bay with my
in-laws during the Cherry Festival. I booked this motel early in the Spring & became worried that my in-laws room w/ 2-double size beds had no a/c. I pestered the owners about not having a/c as we're not accustomed to living without. Just as we were leaving Texas I got an email that an a/c unit was placed in the room. How Wonderful was that!?!?! Couldn't thank them enough!!!!! We stayed from July 11-14th.
My family of 4 (2 adults & 2 kids) stayed in the room with 2-queen size beds. The room was large with a dinning table & a HUGE TV mounted on the wall. There was also a small frig, microwave & coffee maker. Each room has a bench outside w/ a charcoal grill. To keep us entertained while hanging out at the motel there is a large grassy area with a playground, volleyball court, horseshoes & a firepit (they supplied all the things you need to play with). I saw some bikes that you can rent. Across the road is a private beach. There is traffic but we never had a problem crossing the road. The beach is beautiful w/ a fire pit, lawn chairs & a wooden 3 person swing.

If we travel to Traverse City again we will definitely stay here again!!! I love the atmosphere as we felt more at home here rather than in a hotel in town. It was so peaceful!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyJoJo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
6.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn on the Bay

Property: Anchor Inn on the Bay
Address: 12068 S West Bay Shore Dr, Traverse City, MI 49684-5260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn on the Bay is a quaint family style resort on the West Grand Traverse Bay - situated in a beautiful park like setting. You may choose from 1, 2 or bedroom cottages with full kitchens - or a unique motel room. All rooms are air conditioned. We are on M-22 just 2 miles north of Traverse City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing