We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They also make a delicious chicken pot pie, homemade soups, sandwiches and breakfast pastries in addition to yummy pies.”

Grand Traverse Pie Co.
Ranked #3 of 329 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The original Grand Traverse Pie Company location! Our first Pie Shop opened in July of 1996 by company founders, Mike and Denise Busley. The shop is conveniently located on West Front Street in Traverse City, Michigan, just a short walk from downtown and a block from West Grand Traverse Bay. Our open-air design has the kitchen in full view of our customers. There's comfortable seating for those who would like to sit and relax with a slice of pie and a cup of gourmet coffee. We also have great lunch selections, with quiches, soups, pot pie by the slice, salads, sandwiches, and wraps. We serve espresso, smoothies, and a variety of homemade baked goods.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

If you shop frequently, they have a card where you gain the ability to get free or discounted products. Service is great, parking is convenient and the food can't be beat.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Betty, thank you so much for your review and for being part of our Pie Dough Club. We're so pleased that you enjoy our service, pot pies, soups, sandwiches, pies, and pastries. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 930 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2017

Pie is not cheap but a worthy indulgence if you're a pie lover. Got a sour cherry and a raspberry, blueberry, strawberry and apple. Both were great. Also took sandwiches to Sleeping Bear which were fantastic.

Thank beebs4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Beebs, thank you so much for stopping in during your Traverse City visit! We're so pleased that you enjoyed the pies and your To Go sandwiches. We hope you loved your time in Traverse City and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Terrific pot pies (my fave is chicken) and various sweet things with exquisite crusts - this place is a must-visit if you are in the area. You can visit the original down at the other end of Front Street, or this branch that opened up in the middle of the action near the State theater - either way you can't go wrong. Dessert pies (apple, strawberry-rhubarb, cherry, etc.) as well as the caramel-laden apple dumplings are out of this world -- as are the chocolate chip cookies. Oh - and they have excellent sandwiches too. We visit many times per week when visiting Traverse City - and even take frozen pot pies to go occasionally to enjoy them at home for dinner (one frozen pie easily serves four people). Recommended!

Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Brocdog, thank you for your fantastic 5-star review! We're so happy that you enjoy both of our Traverse City pie shops. Thank you for visiting us during your time in Traverse City. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in northern Michigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

The pie was ok. It was Good but not great. It was way too sweet. Actually the cherry pie was more sugar and goo and just a few cherries in the pie. I would try somewhere else next time.

2  Thank annie340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Hi Annie, I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointing pie. We have a lot of pride in our Michigan-made Cherry Crumb Pies. We have thousands who love them but definitely understand if you did not. We'd be happy to replace your pie or provide a refund. Please email me at gtpiesocial@gmail.com. Thank you - Erin, GT Pie Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Great pumpkin and apple pie made Christmas that much better for family from near and far . Many people were buying several of them

Thank tenantrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co., responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Tenantrep, thank you so much for celebrating the holidays with pies from Grand Traverse Pie Company! We're so happy you and your family enjoy them. We appreciate the awesome 5 stars and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Pie Co. also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Pie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing