We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip dinner out and have a piece of pie here instead!”

Grand Traverse Pie Co.
Ranked #4 of 309 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: The original Grand Traverse Pie Company location! Our first Pie Shop opened in July of 1996 by company founders, Mike and Denise Busley. The shop is conveniently located on West Front Street in Traverse City, Michigan, just a short walk from downtown and a block from West Grand Traverse Bay. Our open-air design has the kitchen in full view of our customers. There's comfortable seating for those who would like to sit and relax with a slice of pie and a cup of gourmet coffee. We also have great lunch selections, with quiches, soups, pot pie by the slice, salads, sandwiches, and wraps. We serve espresso, smoothies, and a variety of homemade baked goods.
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Skip dinner out and have a piece of pie here instead!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The dessert case displays all the pies available by the slice and what a selection. Most have a crumb topping. The four of us had different fillings with no complaints. All were delicious. Coffee here is good too. We stopped for lunch the next day and the sandwiches and soup were very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marian090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    220
    46
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous October Pie, & pot pie did not dissapoint”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Will return, nice service, great apple pie with pecans and carmel, and chicken pot pie tonight. Wifi-thankyou. Open till 8pm, thanks again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bronzepalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great cherry pie and sandwiches”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Before departing Traverse City my group of 4 stopped at Grand Traverse Pie Co. The goal was coffee and pie. Couldn't come to Traverse City without experiencing some cherry pie; which was excellent. This location is right downtown and within walking distance to the water/bay and shops. The Turkey BLT was very good as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitejewelrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

GT Pie for lunch - fresh and friendly! Nice salad and sandwich choices. Friendly staff and fair prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank So_Lucky_in_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch was so good, we went back the next day!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the place for a quicky, tasty, home-made lunch at a good price.

Over a couple of visits we tried a variety of menu items. The tomato bisque soup is absolutely wonderful! It can be ordered as a bowl or a cup, and comes with a small slice of french bread.
The spinach chicken salad was so good that my companion ordered it again when we returned the next day! She said the chicken was flavorful, moist, and warm. It comes with dried cherries on top and a fruit vinaigrette that my friend said was "tremendous". The dressing is available for take-out purchase, as well.

But it's the pies....oh, the pies.....that are just to die for! I had the mountain berry crumb pie, which contained blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries and the option of ice cream or whipped cream on top. It was close-your-eyes-and-savor-every-bite delicious! My companion had the blueberry and actually moaned in delight at the first bite!

There is self-serve coffee and tea available - they are available in several varieties, with additions of different types of sweeteners (including honey), and dairy items.

One option is ordering a combo, which I appreciated. This includes choosing two of a selection of items: 1/2 sandwich, cup of soup, slice of quiche, small salad, etc. The second day I ordered half a caprese sandwich (fresh mozarella cheese, basil, pesto, tomatoes and balsamic vinaigrette) and a cup of soup (the aforementioned tomato bisque), which was doubly enjoyable!

The one thing I would change is the system they have for ordering and receiving food. Everyone orders and pays at the front counter; leaving their name, they find a table. When a name is called the person must retrieve their food from a side counter. Patrons also "bus" their own tables, and, as I mentioned get their own beverages. Since the front counter is about 6 steps inside the door, and the pie selection is behind glass closely nearby, this creates a bottleneck right from the get-go. A positive thing is that you can order the entire meal (including dessert) at one time and are given a card to redeem for the sweet once you have finished the meal - and they DO deliver the pie to the table!

Pies and other sweet treats are available for take-out and we saw many people leave with square boxes and big smiles!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lu0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Pie Co. also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Pie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing