We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely patio seating”
Review of Amical

Amical
Ranked #7 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Traverse City overlooking West Grand Traverse Bay, amical has been offering eclectic European cuisine to our dining patrons since 1994. Order from creative and revolving menus, fresh selections prepared in our open kitchen and served in the cozy dining room or on our vibrant street-side patio. Experience the local flavor, dedicated service and consistent reputation that has kept amical a favorite for over 20 years.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lovely patio seating”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It seems that Traverse City doesn't have a lot of restaurants right in town with outdoor seating... and this is one of the few restaurants that does. Amical has a nice little patio. Thankfully, we were able to get a table outside as the air conditioning was on way too high in the restaurant. We enjoyed this restaurant, though were a touch surprised when we were told that they were out of the chicken that my husband ordered. Instead, the waitress suggested a different chicken dish that was 50% more than what he ordered initally. Now, we are not poor, but we are also pretty frugal as we save for our kids' college; personally, I think when the restaurant runs out of a dish, they should match the price on another similar dish or something - at least find a more suitable replacement that does not cost 50% more. In the end, my husband ordered the ravioli and enjoyed it. I ordered the Tomato Bisque en Croute and a salad. I enjoyed the bisque... but it lacked something. It was a pale pinkish color and not very appetizing looking. I think it could have used more red [like tomato red?] and more herbs. The taste was fresh, but not great. It seemed to me that the "croute" did not go with the bisque. Though the pastry shell was tasty, it did not complement the bisque. To my palate, a beef or chicken-based soup would better pair with the pastry shell. All in all, we did enjoy our meal here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMelissa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    244
    72
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise Beach, Missouri, USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish I could rave”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dinner on 6-10. This seems to be a popular eating establishment. Although we enjoyed our meals, I'm not sure I would return. Nothing really wrong, Good, friendly service. Well prepared & presented food. Maybe we were seated to close to where the wait staff prepped, but in general it seemed to lack atmosphere. We love trying new dining experiences & don't mind spending for an enjoyable time, but this did seem to be a little pricey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaeatloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Creative food and outstanding service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I tried to get into Amical one evening several weeks ago following a movie, but without a reservation, the wait was longer than the time we had. I wanted to return. We reserved a table this past weekend, and we were pleased to have been seated 10 min. prior to our arrival time. It was a great experience. We received kInd greetings upon arrival /w fresh bread and a bountiful olive tray before us.

Our server, Jess, was wonderful in explaining the dishes and specials. My wife had the Amical Salad, and herbed polenta cakes. I chose the seafood special of the day - Broiled halibut w/ parmesan risotto and an arugula/w guacamole/grape tomato salad. Dessert was a chocolate and peanut butter mousse torte. Everything was beautifully plated and served. We were very pleased with the quality and presentation of our dinners.

Best ever (other restaurants, take notice) was the way every staffer - waitstaff, hostess, busstaff - thanked us on our way out for being there. That was most appreciated by us that they, in turn, appreciated our being there.

Will we be back? You bet! I'm planning to be a regular customer here in Traverse City.

.

.Deessert seserrt guacole

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Best fine dining in Traverse City”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This is an absolute must for fine dining in Traverse City! My wife and I were recommended to dine here on our Honeymoon last summer, and it was fantastic. We make sure to go here everytime we are in TC. The menu options were appropriate for the season and reasonably priced to other fine dining establishments in the area. Portions are appropriate too. I can't wait until we're back in Traverse City and dining at Amical!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganFoodie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cookbook Series”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were there in March for Vij's cookbook series. We showed up 1/2 hour before closing on a Sunday night and they welcomed us with open arms. Extremely friendly staff. Nothing was off limits for dinner. I started with the signature soup, brussel sprout appetizer, duck dinner and rice pudding for dessert. Everything was very flavorful and cooked to perfection. The wine selected was a perfect match. My wife and daughter who have turned noses at every bowl of mussels other than my own gobbled down 2 servings of Amicals, very impressive feat. The spiced almonds while waiting for dinner were a nice touch. And do yourself and do not leave without one of there wonderful caramel apples, the best in the city by far!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XsiV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amical also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Amical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing