We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food”
Review of Amical

Amical
Ranked #7 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Traverse City overlooking West Grand Traverse Bay, amical has been offering eclectic European cuisine to our dining patrons since 1994. Order from creative and revolving menus, fresh selections prepared in our open kitchen and served in the cozy dining room or on our vibrant street-side patio. Experience the local flavor, dedicated service and consistent reputation that has kept amical a favorite for over 20 years.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wonderful spot in a great part of town. The food is good not cheap but always good. We had sunday brunch and it was a different nice menu. A real treat for dinner too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karingoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    244
    72
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“romantic-cozy-comfort”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Do visit this restaurant for talented chefs preparing delicious food.
The Amical's professional, fun and friendly staff and comfortable bistro-like surroundings will be sure to satisfy.
The menu is well rounded and the specials are truly "special". I enjoyed so much the pork chop (huge) cooked to order with fig and dates.
My wife had squash and pumpkin ravioli we ended the dinner with the their signature dessert- raspberry crême brulée.
The event is not rushed but refreshingly relaxing...attention to all details....wish I were there now...thanks everyone!
be advised that after six if you park down at river the meters do not need to be fed...enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here before many times, and I have most often find the staff very standoffish. I have wondered if they are instructed to act snooty, which has always seemed out of place. Last night we had an excellent meal, welcoming staff, great waiter, and a great seat by the fire. My faith has been restored.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haystacks-Brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscoda, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and ambiance!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Definitely one of our favorite restaurants, especially being from the culinary wasteland of northeast Michigan. We have enjoyed both lunch and dinner here on numerous occasions - always a special experience when visiting Traverse City. Our last visit in May 2012 was highlighted by the morel mushroom appetizer. Amical is great at including locally grown and raised food on their menu. Their desserts are beyond incredible - always a difficult choice! We especially enjoy lunch seated at the table next to the window facing the Boardman River. Menu pricing is very reasonable, especially at lunch. Wait staff is very professional -attentive but not overbearing. One more plus - the bistro setting at Amical is very romantic - told our waitress once that it reminded me of being in a Woody Allen film. My wife and I both smiled when it was apparent she was much too young to know who Woody Allen is!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrived 15 minutes late for our reservation but still were greeted warmly and were seated at an excellent table. Wait staff was very polite and attentive. They did not hurry our meal along even though it was a busy night. The food, dessert, and wine was absolutely delicious. Highly recommend the raspberry creme brule.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steph74010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amical also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Amical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing