We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Couples Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Couples Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was the third time we have stayed at this hotel; it is very quiet and romantic. The view of the bay is gorgeous and the in room spa is very relaxing. They even have a continental breakfast that isn't great but it works for a quick bite if you’re taking off early for a bit of shopping, we simply went almost across the street to Bob Evans. The only reason I gave a very good instead of excellent was the TV was small and off center to the bed, since it was attached to the wall we could not turn it and the bed was too hard for either of us. I will very likely go back as we seem to think it’s a great anniversary destination that is a very fair price.The wireless internet was also a great touch, it gave us the ability to listen to Pandora while relaxing in the jacuzzi.
They offer couples packages including wine and a small basket of goodies, I suggest you save your money and bring your favorite wine with you. I am a huge fan of local Michigan wines but last year when we went I simply wasn't pleased with the choice so we skipped it this year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Turtlecreekrestmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    107
    35
    14
    8
See reviews for
51
176
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We would return in a heartbeat! The rooms were lovely, and the service was great! It was our first trip to Traverse City, and we will be back next summer! We got there the day after the Cherry Festival ended, and I think we are glad that it was quiet. The view of the bay and sunsets were breathtaking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJ-03-02-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is our second time staying here and it was GREAT !!! The view from the room is so beautiful. Loved the room, it was very spacious and the decor was very nice. I really think it was one of the cleanest rooms I've ever stayed in !!! This room has everything you need to enjoy your stay !!! Love, Love, Love !!'

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bummaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigander
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a last minute trip so we could not get into our regular hotel so decided to try something new. It was a very pleasant surprise. This is a motel style setup with the doorways open to the parking lot with three stories. We stayed in a king room. It was clean and very large. The bathroom set up was a little odd but completely functional/ It had nice little extras like a microwave, refrigerator, hot tub, sleeper sofa and a deck with a beautiful view of the lake. There was a small continental breakfast that we chose to forego but it would have been adequate to get my day started. It was a little chilly to be out on the beach but in better weather it would be a lovely place to hang out and play in the sand and water. We did hear our neighbors come in at night but they quickly quieted down

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybunmichigander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Axe, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice view, room was clean and SMELLED CLEAN. Looked like they had updated some things in the room recently. Staff didn't change the sheets, just made the bed in the morning. Had juice, yogurt and mini-muffins for breakfast. Staff was helpful about area attractions. The only drawback was that we could hear road noise in the room, but after a day outside, a soak in the tub and a comfortable bed it wasn't hard to sleep. The fridge and microwave were nice to have in the room. Also, the room had heat registers, not a heating/cooling unit so this made it very quiet when the heat came on.
All in all a very nice place to stay and for the price at the time it was a good value.

Room Tip: If it's during a time when the pool is open, be aware that it is outside nd open late. This may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAcritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Happy Anniversary and Happy Birthday!! My husband and I had just stayed the end of September for my 40th birthday and our Anniversary. I can't say enough about the friendly staff and cleanliness of the room, lobby and even the outside appearance of the Hotel in a whole. The Beach is clean and calming, with beach chairs to lounge on. The pool was clean and heated to a great temperature for a nice night swim. We had gone one day and ventured up Mission Point Penisula to a few winery's and also drove up to Mission Point Light House and ventured out to see the sights were amazing and the winery's we went to were great! I would definately take the time enjoy the winery's and what Traverse City has to offer. In September while we were their the colors were coming out on the trees and we had a wonderful Indian summer!!! Could not have asked for a better vacation for my birthday and our anniversary!!

Room Tip: We love to stay in the West tower on the third floor. Nice and quiet and a great view of the East B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've been staying here for years because we enjoy that every room has a view, a little balcony and a two person jacuzzi. Also reasonably priced. Each room is someone's condo and different. Some drawbacks: you'll want to go somewhere else for breakfast (they used to have great doughnuts but now it's more like bargin doughnuts) and the pipes thump all night in the winter.

Room Tip: Highest floor so no one is walking around above your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Property: Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing