We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heirloom tomato pesto omelet”
Review of Bay Town Kitchen

Bay Town Kitchen
Ranked #192 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heirloom tomato pesto omelet”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Wow! I am 57 years old and have never had a better omelet! I will definitely be back for another. Then I tasted the little cup of sauce on the side...it is apple with cherries and cinnamon and wonderful! Man this place is a foodies dream come true.

Helpful?
1 Thank Misscarolebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AVOID at all COST!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This restaurant has horrid food, audacious prices, and bad service. We were looking for a quick place to have breakfast and unfortunately fell into this hole. First, we stood lingering at the doorway for a good few minutes even though the place was darn near empty. We sat ourselves, had to retrieve our own menus, and then were serviced out of order from another TWO couples who also sat themselves. Their menu is overly complicated with dish choices that "try" entirely too hard to be gourmet. A western omelet was a "special order" and each topping was an extra $.50. This wouldn't have been so bad had the omelet (ham and cheese only) began at $7.50. This, without a side of potatoes (only fruit AND cherry applesauce were included-talk about fruit overload). NOT your typical breakfast options and not in a good way. Next, their food was not enjoyable. The toast was as hard as rocks, the omelet came with raw veggies in it instead of the traditional sautéed, and no one was happy with the "braised" ham inside the omelets that came in long chewy, stringy pieces. To top this all off the bill for four omelet breakfasts and two OJs came close to $60.00!!!!!! Each OJ was $4.00! Seriously ridiculous. I DON'T take time to make these reviews, but this had to be documented and hopefully this restaurant doesn't put off another innocent out-of-towner. Please clean up your menu and food, match your décor with your brick and mortar establishment, bring your prices down, AND hire sufficient service people.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cc2763att
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We come to Traverse City every couple of years or so and always would eat one night at this place which has been re-named and is under new management. (it was formerly Cottage Cafe or Kitchen I think). There used to be a nightly buffet bar as well as really good burgers, sandwiches, and free appetizer of fresh pull apart bread.

This year with daughter and her husband and two grandkids in tow we thought we were in for our usual family friendly tasty dinner. How wrong we were! Our first clue should have been the empty parking lot. The place was kind of dimly lit and we wondered if they were even open. Several groups did arrive after us though, and some were even served before we were.

The only bright spot of our evening was the waitress who was very likeable, pleasant and friendly

There was no buffet, but instead a Thursday night taco bar for $8.00. I thought that might not be too bad until the kids checked it out and said some of the ingredients appeared dried out and others swimming in grease. We all had difficulty finding anything we wanted to order on the menu. Should have paid for our drinks and left.($2.50 each for a small mug of hot chocolate or small bottle of soda.(though the cherry pop was very tasty.) No free refills on either of course. But it was getting late, we were all hungry, so we each settled for "something" .

My husband and I selected the asparagus leek Swiss omelet from the all day breakfast menu. We asked for Egg Beaters or egg substitute but were told they didn't have these; the might have egg whites but probably not. The full cholesterol omelets were passable. They came with choice of toast. Turned out to be one slice of very hard and nearly burned toast (mine cranberry walnut and his wheat ) without butter or jelly.

Daughter's BLT on similarly hard bread/toast with thick chewy non crisp bacon. Grandson's omelet stuffed with same type of bacon. "Hashbrowns" were like chopped up steak fries and unbearably greasy and non tasty.

Son-in law's $16.95 salmon dinner had salmon that was soft and very undercooked in the middle.

Probably the only satisfied customer was the 9 year old who got the kid's peperoni pizza.

To top it off, we waited OVER 40 MINUTES from order time to serving. Cancelled out a quick trip of downtown we were going to make after dinner. Total cost was over $70.00 with no offer of any kind for the poor food or long wait. We did tip the waitress fairly because she was great, and it was obviously not her fault.


This is my first really negative restaurant review but I'm sorry to have to say we will never return !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

They make their own cherry jelly plus other dishes, and overall an excellent place. Hostess distracted and slow and newbie server a bit overwhelmed

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paula q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ann, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Deserves a try”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had lunch with a friend here this week. The fish with asparargus quacamole was innovative and fresh. Likewise the ingredients of the veggie sandwich. Coconut cake and lemon bars were also very good. Prices right, too. (It's been a number of plain food places these last few years, but I think these folks are committed to fresh and fun.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rollingpeach1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Town Kitchen also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Bay Town Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing