We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service, and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opa Uptown - CLOSED

Opa Uptown
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family and I were looking for a place to enjoy a good meal following a movie screening at the State Theatre. It was about 3 p.m. - midway between lunch and dinner hours, so we were concerned about what we could find, aside from a fast-food joint. So happy that we happened upon Opa Uptown.

Just a minute or two east of downtown, with convenient, free parking, we enjoyed a wonderful mid-afternoon meal (Calamari appetizer, Gyros, Portabella 'burger" w/ pesto and red pepper, and a beautiful cheeseburger on a fantastic pretzel bun). Our server was super polite and efficient, and the restaurant itself reminded me of a high-end European dining spot, w/ a great-looking bar, baby grand piano, and comfortable, roomy seating.

The dinner menu itself is European-inspired, with plenty of creative dishes to choose from. Looking forward to a return visit, for dinner, as well as Sunday brunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Place for Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have had dinner here many times and the food has always been good, and the service pleasant. It is still new so we have never had trouble getting a table immediately. There is easy and convenient parking behind the building, and since the entrance is there you seldom have to walk more than a few feet to your car. They have outdoor seating, but since it has been cold since they opened, we haven't tried that yet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnheiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently had a group of 12 at this restaurant. The food was very good and priced reasonably. My wife and I had attended one other time but were glad we came back for a second look. Our waiter was great, his name was Paul and he did a very good job of keeping us happy. The atmosphere is okay but nothing special. Enjoyed our night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An amazing Greek food experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wow, what a wonderful surprise this was. Authentic and tasty and served up in ample portions. The service was amazing, complete the "Opa" yell when they lit the Saganaki cheese that I so love! It is a little strange as the signage is on the front of the building, yet the entryway is at the back, but boy was it worth looking for. Our server recommended an amazing wine to complement the meal and we were not disappointed. I would absolutely recommend, no - insist, that if you love Greek food, you simply must not miss this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just love Opa Uptown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visit Uptown often and the service and food can't be beat! Have yet to try the Sunday brunch, but it looks incredible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatyouremissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa Uptown also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing