We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice find for a great breakfast !!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of J & S Hamburg

J & S Hamburg
Ranked #89 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
254 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“"Nice find for a great breakfast !!"”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visiting family in Traverse City let us find this great cafe. Tucked away in a strip mall, the locals know it as a wonderful place for breakfast or a good lunch. We did breakfast. The American Fries were delicious!! Tasty sausage and bacon rounded out the meal. A special omelette had lots of tastes and filled the plate. We'll go back next time we're in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cattleman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine, Fl
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Burgers Always”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Traveling through Traverse City and stopped at the South Airport location. Great afternoon burger and the service was exceptional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCourter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's where the locals go!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

It's easy to miss this place. Located in a strip mall we have passed it hundreds of times.
We woke to a beautiful sunny morning and decided to go out for breakfast before spending the day at the lake.
Husband decided to try someplace we had not been. After reading a few reviews we headed to J & S.
The first thing I noticed was that there were a lot of cars in the parking lot. Next, upon walking in, there was a table with 10 or so business men gathered for breakfast before they started their day.
Everything we ordered was excellent. Omelette, biscuits and gravy, American fries and the rye bread was outstanding.
It would have been great to have some flavored creamer for my coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traceyld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not the same”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We used to come to J&S frequently, and remembering how good the hamburgers were then, made a special trip this year while visiting in the area. So disappointed! The server was friendly and suggested a better "deal" than ordering separately, however, the hamburger was nearly tasteless and the fries not much better. There were others there, so clearly, there are those who will give it a shot, but I figure this will be our last visit. It was my dad's favorite, so sorry this is the case.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljtheodore1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My kind of diner”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just got lucky and found J & S on S airport rd while my wife got her nails done nearby. Great variety, tried several items,good prices, all good food! Its not brand new or sparklling clean but it is not run down or dirty either. You must have the cinnamon roll, one of the best I have ever had and it is big, warm and sweet. This is a local American resturant I will just visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EasyJustVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & S Hamburg also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to J & S Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing