We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum.”
Review of Ham-Bonz

Ham-Bonz
Ranked #67 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast, great service, cool "local" atmosphere. The biscuits and gravy were a little too salty for my taste, and the hot sauce was fairly mild, but with a good flavor. Eggs, bacon, ham, potatoes, and toast: all amazing. Very friendly service. We even overheard some local political conversations over morning coffees. Overall good experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank Millerjala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great tasting food and a huge breakfast! Couldn't eat it all and saved some for later. Soups and BBQ at lunch is very good too. Call ahead if you're carrying out, and it's ready and still hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lfchs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
543 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Rocking breakfast. Got the Whole Hog. Was perfect. Crispy hashbrowns. Crispy cheese. Gravy. Bacon. Smokey ham. Sausage. Gravy. Topped with eggs. Fried toast. Heaven on a plate.

Helpful?
1 Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsley, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge Omelets...Small Restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent breakfast. Extremely large but only seats about a dozen if that. My husband and I always split an omelet because they are so large.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRoberts20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
372 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“decent service, cook with a bad attitude, mediocre food”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Had lunch there last week (had always heard about it, but never had the chance to stop there).

Somewhat of a disappointment.

It's noted for it's smoked meat. Well, I'll tell you, I had the smoked turkey BLT. and it was all bun - not alot of b nor t. I would say - with all honesty - that it had 3 small slices of turkey, some bacon, and about 5 inches of bun. Can't taste the famous "smoked meat" when there's no meat and a bunch of sauce????!!!

Add to that a grumpy chef, and you're better off at a sandwich chain (hate to say that!)

I would spend your money elsewhere. You're in TC - the "Foodie" capital of the US!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ham-Bonz also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Ham-Bonz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing