We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views of the bay.....”
Review of Apache Trout Grill

Apache Trout Grill
Ranked #10 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Apache Trout Grill has a casual lodge theme to the dining room. Over looking Grand Traverse Bay is the perfect setting for any occasion.The Apache serves good food right.
Lockport, IL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“views of the bay.....”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visited this past Sunday for dinner. It has just rained so the weather was no great but we sat outside on the large patio overlooking the bay. We ordered a glass of wine from the outside bar and sat down to relax. We met a local couple and enjoyed our visit with them. We had to wait over an hour for our table so we were very hungry. We ordered the smoked fish dip and it was great. I had a steak and my husband ordered the perch, both were very good. The service was efficient and friendly. The views and the patio are the best part of this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lockportlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    345
    125
    39
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brunch disappointing this time”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have enjoyed many good brunches here but this time it was very disappointing. We both ordered omelets and they were browned and way over cooked. My honeydew melon tasted fishy and I actually spit it out in my napkin. Every time we got up we returned to find our silverware or napkins removed from the table along with the dishes some with food we were still eating. The waitress was rushing around over filling our coffee and making us feel rushed. It was not an enjoyable meal. My husband likes the prime rib but the carver would shave of a sliver of meat maybe two bites worth. That's ok but not if you are paying $20.00 per person. It will be a while before we go back again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Misscarolebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to finish”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Just finishing our Michigan vacation. From Mackinaw to Holland and then home. We have tried a lot of places along the way. We have loved the hospitality. Today we ate here and the end was the best! Whitefish, lobster bisque an quality service by Natashia! What a beautiful setting. Circle this place as a stop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donnelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place on the Bay, White fish and steaks excellent”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This review consists of 4 people on Sunday afternoon in July that were seated right away.
Great service. Great bloody Mary's. New York strip was cooked perfectly, calamari was tender,
White fish was the largest portion ever seen, excellent meal. Could have been a 5 but it was slightly noisy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and kid friendly”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We loved the food! Husband had the fish taco and I had the special of the day turkey with Brie and blueberry/grilled onion chutney sauce on wheat with a cup of shrimp/lobster bisque soup. It was delicious! Kids had the chicken tenders and it was cooked perfectly (not over done). Great friendly service. When we arrived for lunch the parking lot was full so I went inside to ask if add'l parking was available and the hostess came outside to point across the street where we could park. Again, great service and we will definitely be back. Worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apache Trout Grill also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Apache Trout Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing