We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The treasure of Traverse City!”
Review of poppycocks

poppycocks
Ranked #15 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casual DOWNTOWN restaurant offering New American inspired cuisine. Eclectic specials, fresh seafood, pasta, unique sandwiches and salads, vegetarian specialties and award-winning desserts. Emphasis on fresh, local products. Live jazz on Friday and Saturdays. Full bar with extensive martini menu, wines by the glass, and unique craft beers on tap,
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The treasure of Traverse City!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I wandered in at about 2 pm and were we ever pleasantly surprised!
Emily, our genuinely friendly waitress, gave us explanations, recommendations, and the best service! My husband ordered the soup trio (fabulous home made selections - I stole a bite of each) and was thrilled with his choice. We then split a spinach salad topped with warm artichoke, mushroom and onion sauté (and the salad was large enough for a satisfying split). It was served with yummy warm bread. Had we discovered this great place on the first of our four days in Traverse City, we would have gone there each day for lunch or dinner. I'm sad we were too full to sample the amazing desserts. Fabulous food, ambiance, and wait staff! It's a must sample treasure of Traverse City.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    130
    29
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Insane that anyone could not love this place!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We were not hungry tonight when we walked into this place..until we saw the menu. I ordered the briscit my husband ordered a pasta with shrimp. The tomato soup was wonderful too. We both loved our meals, the briscit came with veggies and sweet potato fries. It had a sauce over the top. Amazing! Then we had cherry cobbler, even though we were so full. The desserts are beautiful and it was a tough choice.

Eat HERE!!! SO stinking good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imkaylajacobsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful Staff and Food”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Delightful staff and food. The soups and chili are out of this world. If you are interested in a light lunch, consider a bowl. Very nice wine selection. Wonderful atmosphere. The owners obviously care about the entire dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GR_Traveling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Town staple”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

You are down town shopping and the air is crisp and their soups are so welcoming and comforting...decor however needs a real upgrade...a serious upgrade..those torn seats have to go

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must when in town”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We go here for at least one meal every time we are in Traverse City and we have never been disappointed. Every dish is unique and full of wonderful favors.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed poppycocks also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to poppycocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing