We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different in a great way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fire Fly

Fire Fly
Ranked #53 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, American, International, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in downtown Traverse City, on the banks of the Boardman River, Fire Fly specializes in small plates, sushi, and martinis. Dine inside or riverside on the patio! Fire Fly offers daily specials including Happy Hour every day from 3pm to 6 pm. Fire Fly is proof that great food doesn't have to be expensive. We offer a wide selection of local, national and international wines, and our craft beer selection is extensive. Our knowledgeable staff can help pair the perfect wine or craft beer with your dinner!
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Different in a great way”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The menu is unique and diverse. We chose an option to have 3 "small plates" of a few dishes that were all very well prepared and tasty. The skinny mojito was awesome. Ambiance was unique and comfortable. My husband and I plan on going back when we visit again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    100
    47
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Interlochen, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food, good specials”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wonderful food & service. Prices are a little steep, but they have nightly special offers, like "half-price sushi night" which make it a little sweeter. There is a little bit of outdoor seating in the front which is shaded from the sun by the building & is therefore nice in the summer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronson, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trendy and fun”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were a fairly large group (9) and came in at height of Saturday evening rush but we still got seated quickly. The place was hopping and almost a party atmosphere. I started out with a traditional magarita which was excellent. Pita chips and humus next, also excellent. My sister had the fried calamari. It was very fresh and some of the best I have ever had. Almost everyone in our group ordered something different and we did allot of sharing.
Just be warned when they say small plate they mean SMALL plate. You can mix and match these mini ontrees and theres a big variety to choose from which is cool. And when they don't say small plate they mean small plate. The emphasis is on quality rather that quantity.
The flank steak special I ordered came with garlic mashed potatos and roasted aspargus. It was delicious! The steak was prefectly done and had a sauce that was out of this world. The aspargus also spot on perfectly done. Superb quality on all items. However, the portions were skimpy especially when you concider the pricing. You get 3 small plates for $30. My "special" was $26 or $28 (margarita was extra).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fun enjoyable place to eat. Especially in the SummerTime. Eat outside and enjoys the sounds of Traverse City!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank zekeferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely! But, Aweful Parking”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Firefly looks more expensive than it is!
Our food was a-m-a-z-i-n-g! I got a portobella wrap, but I converted it to a sandwich. I did order french fries, and they never came, BUT it was totally OK because the sandwich was huge and I was stuffed.
Our server had a great attitude. She was friendly and a little sassy. I like when servers have a personality.
I also got TWO glasses of Chard. for only $5 total.. what!? It was happy hour, and that was awesome.
The only bad thing about Firefly is the parking.. there isn't enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Fly also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Fire Fly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing