We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Need Help”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #115 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They Need Help”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I like their onions rings, but, they do not know how to cook steak. I have maybe visited this chain 4 times in my lifetime, each time they give me horrible steak. I will never go there again. The only time I visited the Traverse City one I took a friend to try the onion rings. Both of us love steak and both of us ordered different kinds of steak....they were horrible. Mine was tough, you couldn't hardly chew or cut it, and my friends was full of grizzle. I won't go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank daja2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We took a day trip to Traverse City. By the time we got to the restaurant, it was 9:30 and they close at 10:00. We had an awesome waitress who never made us feel rushed. We both had steaks that were cooked to perfection and the signature salad with pecans was wonderful! We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak Experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I believe Outback Steakhouse to be in the top two of steakhouse chains. The service is outstanding and I believe they are truly concerned that you have an exceptional experience. When they make a mistake they strive real hard to fix it to your satisfaction. One of the best features is the little pumpernickel loafs they bring out. They are soft and warm and melt in your mouth delicious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidtheDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food... Great Service!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place has the best reliable food the outback steakhouse always has, yet this place has great service to follow it up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Family Meal”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Dined here the evening of 11/30/13. Our party of 5 was seated immediately and our waiter was extremely professional and very attentive the entire visit.

We had grilled shrimp & bacon cheddar cheese fries for apps. The shrimp was good, but 8 pieces for 5 hungry people was not really worth it. The fries, however, were AMAZING. I usually never eat something fried and topped with cheese & bacon, but OMG, these were yummy. I almost wish I hadn't opened up my taste buds to that sinful delight!

Everyone's meal was very tasty. I ended up with a cup of French Onion soup and it was the best I'd ever eaten. I also had the sweet potato with honey butter as a side, and it was out of this world! Tasted like dessert.

The only problem we experienced was that my husband ordered the rib eye and was served a New York. The waiter, though no fault of his, apologized profusely and offered to quickly have the correct meal prepared, but we declined (can't make kids wait, you know...). I think that was a bit of a disappointment for my husband but the steak was good nonetheless.

Overall, it was a very satisfying meal & we'd eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing