We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the over 80 crowd”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #40 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For the over 80 crowd”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

If you like your food bland and cold, this is the spot for you. Probably a step up from the usual assisted living fare, but not a big step. We went to the Sunday buffet which was picked over with no sign they planned to replenish it. There were 2 scramble eggs - plain and with a few veggies and some cheddar on top, Luke warm sausage and bacon, cold pancakes stuck together, maple flavored syrup, mini eclairs that were icy inside, assorted fruits and a gooey chocolate sauce. Scones were dry and floury tasting. There were two items on the end we couldn't figure out - a grey mushy looking mess and fried something- no one was brave enough to try it. All overpriced at $11 per person.

Service was poor - we had to search for our server to pay and she never came by to offer more coffee.
A one star rating is one star too
Many.

Helpful?
2 Thank 725sde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    79
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We selected this restaurant, as it was next door to our hotel, & we were told the prices were reasonable & the food choices were varied. Service was good, the menu was large, & our selection, a Cobb salad, was large & very good.
Recommend this as an affordable, family restaurant with good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Meh...just so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If your 80+ this is the place for you! Wide open space, no music, and a fairly outdated menu. The service was ok and the food was tolerable but there are far better choices in the area! I can say I have been, but I probably won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient location ho-hum food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was close to the hotel in which we stayed. Unfortunately, that was a mistake. The service was relatively prompt, which surprised me considering what others said, but the food was disappointing. I ordered parmesan-crusted fish with a baked potato and salad. The best part of my meal with the cinnamon bread and salad! The fish was soggy, the potato way overcooked. The replacement potato came as I finished the rest of my meal, so I didn't want it. My husband had the 1/2 rack of ribs, which turned out to be either 1/4 rack or from a very small pig. His fries were overdone and his cole slaw bland and soupy. The server really tried to make things right and deducted part of our bill, but it was simply not a good experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
128 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient to our Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've recently learned that the Cottage Café is more of a breakfast and brunch place, but they were convenient to our hotel and open for dinner. As a visitor to MI, I wanted to try white fish. It was decently prepared with Parmesan cheese and normally served with tartar sauce. Since I don't like the latter, I asked for seafood sauce and was given some that on first bite nearly took the top of my head off due to its horseradish content. The waitress heard my reflexive reaction and put herself out to tone it down for me. The net result was tasty and very useable. My husband ordered the wedge salad with Thousand Island dressing and a BLT sandwich. These were okay, but the dressing was clearly out of a bottle and not home made.

There was plenty of easy parking, including some handicapped spaces. The atmosphere was pleasant, and the service was friendly and on time. Cottage Café is clean, something that is essential in a restaurant. Since it's Oct. in Traverse City, the weather is cold and rainy. I mention this, because one wants food served piping hot. Mine was hot, but not piping hot. I would recommend the Cottage Café in our circumstances, but don't see it as a destination eatery. Don't know if they accept reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing