We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is the bomb!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #45 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plainwell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place is the bomb!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Again, very friendly and very down home cooking. My husband and two teenage boys are rather boastful about the amount of good cooking they can put away and I enjoy watching Cottage Cafe make them eat their words every time!! : ) The portions are UNBELIEVABLE! The food is divine and there is more of it, starting with a lovely bread on the table, than you will be abale to get a way with. You had better expect to take a carry out dish home!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brendanextdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    77
    27
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch at The Cottage, Traverse City MI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had a terrific lunch with great service at this restaurant. We had a coupon from Up North Live which was a great value, salad and cherry dressing was terrific, desserts were delicious, clean and spacious.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uprocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had high hopes for this place since it's so cute on the outside and inside and it's locally owned. Was very busy for 1:00 on a Sunday. Took quite a long time to get our food and our 7 year old was very anxious waiting. Our server was so nice and recommended the Cobb Salad (which I ordered) and paid a compliment to my husband on his order of the eggs benedict. My cobb didn't have eggs in it which I thought was strange and the bacon was so tough it was not edible. Grilled chicken on it was "okay" but overall it was just very average. My husband said that his meal was just "okay" Might be the kind of place where you have to order certain things for it to be good; not sure but again, it was very busy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JanesAddiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
586 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“A Taste of the South Up North in Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Old fashioned comfort food at is best is what you find at the Cottage Restaurant in Traverse City Michigan. Added to all the comfort foods are Southern Style touches like fresh made biscuits, authentic grits, sweet potato fries and sauteed spinach in the style of collard greens. They do a great job with steaks, BBQ ribs and prime rib. Seafood is seasonally available and we have seen excellent perch, pike and whitefish. They sometimes have a hearty Beef Stew served over biscuits. Traverse City is the cherry capital and they make a black cherry cobbler that is to die for. Service is fast cheerful and efficient. There are several hotels close enough to walk over for breakfast and you will enjoy the steak and eggs. If you want something a little lighter you can make any combo of eggs any style with ham, bacon or sausage. Health focused customers can order a veggie omelette or egg white scramble. Blueberry cheesecake pancakes and French toast are good and feel free to add the wheat toast to any breakfast. Its home made style and delicious. If you're looking for comfort food with a taste of the South The Cottage Restaurant is for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we went back the next day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Traverse City and found this restaurant near our hotel. We had dinner Saturday night, March 2. Our food was excellent. The service was great. Our server was very friendly. We enjoyed our meal so much, the next morning we were looking for a place and decided to go back. My husband had the breakfast buffet. The food was delicious. Again, our server was very friendly and the service was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing