We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”

Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission
Ranked #12 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for the second time this season for a late lunch. The restaurant itself reminds me of the inside of an old mill, with rough hewn beams and plain furniture and booths. Overall it strikes me with more of a bar atmosphere. It sits on a hill above Grand Traverse Bay, but you won't see any views of the lake from the dining room. Upon their grounds is also The Mission Table restaurant which does have outdoor seating overlooking the water. They have a beer and distilled spirits tasting room also. We were seated in a booth which looked out upon the back lawn. The food at the Jolly Pumpkin is good, but similar to the menu which one might find at any sports bar. We had the bison sloppy joe, which is honestly the best tasting sloppy joe that I have ever consumed! It was served with French fries. There is a large selection of locally brewed beer on draught, however due to seasonality, some might not be available. I had to make a second choice because of that. Overall a good restaurant for lunch or dinner, but don't expect a view or something fancy. We will eat here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank blootnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    282
    98
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“birthday at the pumpkin”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

my wife and I had a great meal her. when my wife told our wait staff it was my birthday, NO singing wait staff, which was a relief, but he did give me a free souvenir glass and a $10 dollar discount on the meal !! the beers were also fantastic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, MI
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Did no disappoint”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I are from Chelsea, MI, which is not far from Dexter, which is where Jolly Pumpkin originated (I believe). We have also been to their Ann Arbor location. This was our first time to the Old Mission location, but it was a beautiful location. The food was good and so was the beer. If we are ever in the peninsula again, we will definitely stop in for a beverage.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noturns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beer tastings, hauntings and lunch”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We were going through Old Mission, touring some of the locations when we decided to go to the Jolly Pumpkin for lunch.

We managed to get a beer/wine/liquer tasting for $5 each. All drinks were a unique experience.

Additionally, we learned about Genevieve, a woman's ghost who haunts the place.

Then we set down for lunch and enjoyed yummy food with great service. The price was touristy but not too much.

All in all, it was a fun experience, even without seeing the ghost in person.

Helpful?
Thank ECfromTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Totally Crappy”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We waited and waited and waited to get a table all the while watching empty tables stay empty. When we questioned a hostess as to why these tables were empty, we were told they only had 2 servers for that area and could only seat people there "every so often." OK, it was the first Saturday of harvest season and this happens every year -- staff your business accordingly!!!! After waiting for over an hour to get a seat while we watched many tables sit open without customers, we were finally seated. At a table in the farthest back corner next to and behind two tables with large parties. After sitting for a couple of minutes without anyone acknowledging us, the manager came over to ask us if "anyone had greeted us yet." When we said no and told her we had waited a very long time and would like to just place our order, she asked if we would like a better table. She proceeded to seat us at a table that had been open for several minutes before we were called by the hostess. When we asked if we could have a booth that had been open for an equal amount of time, she said that was being held for a party of 5. A few minutes later 4 people were seated there. The food was okay. The waitress was fine. We won't be back. Too many other good places in the area that will treat us better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDK326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Jolly Pumpkin Old Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing