We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pasties”
Review of Lehto's Pasties - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lehto's Pasties
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasties”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are traveling on Highway 2 anywhere near Saint Ignace, you must stop at Lehto's for a pasty. You should arrive hungry because the pasties are very good and very filling. They cost about $5.50.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank alexr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City MI
Level Contributor
207 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not up to standards”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Owner is very lacks about being open. Pasties have only ground beef and potato. The potato appeared to be mashed. No carrots, turnips. Young man working was trying hard. Owner s far from his Finn roots.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A taste of Michigan”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had't had a good pasty in a long time. My friend had never had one. We read about Lehto's history and decided we wanted to try it. We chose the traditional beef and the chicken. We ordered warm pasties as a carry out meal. When he handed us the bag, my hand dropped a bit given the weight of the package. You are not being shorted on food. The crust was light flaky. The fillings were so good. I'll compare other pasties to this one. I'll report back when I find one that is better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mplsmyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Taste of da UP!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent tasting pasties. The thinly sliced meat and veggies really makes a difference. The taste of the crust is what really puts this pasty above it's competitor's version.
I bought cold ones to bring home for baking later that day. The gal who sold them to me did not offer the baking instructions, nor did she offer any gravy to go with. (Not sure if gravy is a condiment for take-out.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinjin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Real UP Pasties in Traverse City!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was very pleased to find out that the new owner of the famous Lehto's Pasty shop on US 2 about 7 miles West of St. Ignace has opened a new Lehto's Pasty shop here in Traverse City! My wife and I sampled their pasties the other night, and they were excellent! The recipe is, in fact, the original Lehto's recipe from (I believe) 1947 when the St. Ignace shop opened. I have had pasties all over the UP (Michigan's upper peninsula), Northern Michigan, Central Michigan, Florida, Montana and Cornwall, England, and these are absolutely the best! The crust (I suspect made with lard) is excellent, the meat is very good, a touch of rutabaga and great spices add flavor and -- the real secret in my opinion -- the potatoes are sliced, not diced. The sliced potatoes soak up the flavors and don't turn mushy. Overall, just plain outstanding pasties!

When I was growing up, my parents returned to the UP every summer for a vacation, and starting in 1947 (I was only 4) we stopped at Lehto's both coming and going. They are the best pasties, and I am very happy I can get them here in Traverse City now.

This is a take-out only operation, so get some ketchup, something to drink and eat them at the beach or in a nearby park, and ENJOY!!!!!!!!! Lehto's is located just West of Division (US-31) on the North side of Front Street next to Ace Hardware.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehto's Pasties also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing