We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good, but coulda been better for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgina's

Georgina's
Ranked #9 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Asian, Cuban, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Naperville, Illinois, United States
1 review
“really good, but coulda been better for the price”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went for lunch, I had the seared ahi and my wife had the chicken pad thai. Seared ahi was tasty, but for the money just not enough tuna. Chicken pad thai was really loaded with chicken. Kinda strange that they don't have an ice machine, and the servers seemed rather blah about their work, The chef, tho, is a GREAT guy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    160
    51
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent "hole-in-the-wall" restaurant unless you want intimate dining”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had heard so many wonderful things about this restaurant we knew we had to try it! If you like crowded (touching elbows with the table next to you) dining, this is the place for you. Sometimes that's fun because it feels very "European" having conversations with the people at the next table, in fact, sometimes you have to be careful to not think you can try their food!
The chef comes to your table to describe the food and take your order, but on the night we were there, the chef seemed tired and ready to go home.
I had the seared Ahi which was excellent but tasted like good Ahi from any restaurant, but at a better price. My husband had duck and it was fine, but nothing special. We have experimented with these types of dishes at home so it was like we could cook. I think if we had tried something different, we would have better remarks about this restaurant. Some of the other food that went to tables near us looked very intriguing and tasty.
Be sure to call for reservations as the place is always full. I hope I don't come back next summer to find that Georgina's has moved to a larger location and doubled their prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is some of the most authentic food you will find in TC. Everything i have had has been incredibly good. The owner is awesome and will tailor anything you want to your likes. i cant say enough about how good the food is. It is a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gretchen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little spot”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were in town for a family reunion when we tried Georgina's. My husband, 2 daughters and I tried it based on the Trip Advisor reviews. All four of us chose very different selections and all 4 were absolutely wonderful. So we told our family about it, and over the course of our stay 6 more of our family members gave it a try. Not one person was unhappy with their selections. The restaurant is small and slightly cramped, but the food is wonderful. Having the chef spend time with us to explain the many unfamiliar items on the menu was a big plus. We plan to have another reunion in the area in a couple of years and I cannot wait to go back to Georgina's. I'd highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant takes it up a few notches...”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We've been coming to Traverse City for five years now and have naturally established some of our favorite restaurants. To be honest, we had never heard of Georgina's and a local friend of ours said "you have to try Georgina's." We made a reservation, which I recommend given the size and went with some of our friends also here visiting. We consider ourselves foodies and are well traveled both of us living outside of the US. I admit, we weren't expecting "authentic Cuban Cuisine" given Traverse City is more of a steak and potatoes type of town. Not to knock any of the other restaurants because Stella and Boathouse are always good. But, we were absolutely blown away and left nothing on our plates at Georgina's. The service is great. The food is spectacular and all the flavors take you on a journey. The chef is passionate and works hard to please every guest in his restaurant. This was refreshing as you rarely get such a genuine chef who takes his time to come and meet every person, answer any question you have and make sure you leave with a pleased palate. We have a new tradition now, and it's Georgina's. My recommendation is go as many times as you can before you leave because this restaurant takes it up a few notches from everything else we have had and has plenty of variety on the menu to keep you coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkishema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgina's also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Georgina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing