We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Extraordinary Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgina's

Georgina's
Ranked #9 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Asian, Cuban, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

At Georgina's, you will experience a meal like no other. Chef Anthony will himself talk with you about the dishes that he could make for you. After talking with him, your selection will be prepared by hand, only a very few yards away. The aromas here are amazing! When your plate arrives, it will be beautiful, and bursting with flavors, ingredients and combinations (think authentic Cuban, Nicaraguan, blended with pan-Asian fusion) that you have never experienced (at least in this country) before. When you are "up" for something truly different, and so very memorable, go experience Georgina's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorginasTC, Owner at Georgina's, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Gary, Thank you so much for the review. We are pleased that you had a great time and that you enjoyed yourself! We are all about keeping the flavors alive and keeping your taste buds happy. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    160
    51
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

While we knew this was a small restaurant, this was more like a sardine can. We had reservations and upon arrival no tables were readily available but, without a word, the waiter reached out and moved half a table away (6 inches) from another occupied table and motioned for us to squeeze in there. Eventually, the chef came to take our order but took the order of the people next to us first (they arrived after we did). Half the menu is Spanish with no description so had to have the chef explain everything. Our food came pretty quickly, was beautifully presented, and a large portion. It tasted very unique and very good. Overall, food very good but felt atmosphere and wait staff were lacking. Probably won't go back until there get a larger place. This is a great social setting but not if you want any type of semi-private conversation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorginasTC, Owner at Georgina's, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Travellover94. Thanks for your honest review. We know that our space is small, but as a building business, this is what we can afford at the moment and it is a great opportunity for us to bring our food to traverse city and help others enjoy. We are sorry that you think it lacked atmosphere. We really are working on it!

As far as reservations go, they are really only appropriate in our location so that you have a reserved spot. Having said that, we only have 16 seats, so it often gets tight when we are full. We apologize that there were no tables readily available for you, but everyone who comes in is my guest. I wouldn't throw you out of my kitchen to make room for anyone else, just like I'm not going to throw out the other guests and hurt their experience. I want everyone to have a great time, and if that means they stay a bit extra, so be it.

As we only have 16 seats, it means we have to be very versatile. We believe it brings a sense of community that is well-represented in Latin cultures that is often lacking in American settings. We WANT you to get to know your neighbors. Get to know the people around you and experience the food together with them. Part of this also comes with Chef Tony reaching every table. He doesn't mean to discredit you by visiting everyone at once, but rather wants to foster relationships and provide you with a cultural experience.

The menu is purposefully half in Spanish and half in English with no descriptions. Though we have been asked a lot for descriptions, we don't want guests to judge the dishes based on key ingredients. Just because you don't like onions may mean you shy away from some of our dishes when really, you would love the flavor. We are about a fusion of flavors and we want you to be able to try each dish unbiased. I doubt you wouldn't like anything.

Our wait staff is also encouraged to keep the customers happy without being too intrusive. We understand its a tight squeeze and we don't want to be too overwhelming. At the same time, Chef Anthony is meant to be the main speaker, communicating with you about his food and his passion.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us at info@georginastaqueria.com.
Right now we are trying as hard as we can to share with you a great product and a great experience. We apologize your experience wasn't what you expected. We would really appreciate your business and we are very open to any suggestions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Traverse City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

You have never had food like this before. Every bite is delicious and flavorful and fresh, and you will have a hard time getting it out of your mind...ever! We are going to try every single menu item. I recommend getting there now, and starting to work through that menu yourself. Chef Anthony is a SUPERSTAR! Talent like his does not come along every day...you won't like normal food anymore after eating here, it is that good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorginasTC, Owner at Georgina's, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, Lisa! We really appreciate it. We are so excited to help you through the menu and help you enjoy all of our fusion flavors. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved Every Bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had dinner last night and loved the food. This is the perfect location for them to start up in, just as Cooks House was unique so are they. Nothing in Traverse City is like what they serve up. I had the #9 (can't pronounce) and it was very good. My wife had one of the Asian meals and also loved the food. Small, a little Smokey with the kitchen so close to where you eat but that is what makes this spot in TC special. We are looking forward to our next return. Very affordable too. Only draw back is no alcohol on site.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorginasTC, Owner at Georgina's, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Kent! Thanks for your review! Glad you had a good time! We apologize for no liquor! We actually can't get a license because you have to have a minimum of 25 seats...and our space does not allow for that!
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. I had the BBQ pork. It was delicious. The physical structure is very small, and I have to assume will enlarge soon. I advise avoid 12 noon. They only have 6 tables. But don't let that sway you. It's worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank entr1ck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorginasTC, Owner at Georgina's, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi entr1ck1! We are so blessed by your support. We love the BBQ pork too! Marinated just right! If you'd like to come in at noon, you can always make a reservation by calling us at (231) 943-1555 or you can call in for takeout! Orders usually take 15-20 minutes and you can pick up and eat at your convenience!
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgina's also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Georgina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing