We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Unexpected Delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Foufou

Bistro Foufou
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Foufou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Frankfort, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was the last of the three restaurants we tried during Restaurant Week; after The Boathouse and The Cooks House. This meal was the best of the three.

Preparation was impeccable and the plating imaginative. The Cod gnocci was a savory delight, and the Whitefish, a staple up here, when paired with the tomato slices and remoulade was satisfying. The desert tasting ended a wonderful meal. Everybody in our party, whether having the Coq au Vin or the pork stew (prepared as a Caribbean dish), commented on how well things were prepared and presented.

The reasonably priced beers/cocktails/wine was a surprise after the other two restaurants and one could easily find a nice pairing for the richer dishes from their wine list.

We will be going back. I have eaten at places like The Bistro at Chez Panisse in Berkeley, California, and the classic Le Vichyssois in McHenry, Illinois, and in comparison this is wonderful bistro fare.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    47
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment, Yet Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

After giving this place yet another chance, never again.
Small portions, high prices, mediocre service and an attitude!
To spend what we did for dinner and then leave hungry is disgraceful.

Helpful?
4 Thank TorchLk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing to rave about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband I went for happy hour drinks and appetizers and also had soup and shared a salad. Our waiter was downright pretentious and the food was just okay. I was really annoyed when the waiter told us he would have to adjust our bill up because we were using gift certificates purchased from UpNorthLive because they couldn't include any "specials." I'm sorry, but happy hour is not a "special" if you offer it every day. We won't be going back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DTdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brought Friends, left disappointed. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth visit to Bistro Fou Fou. Our first four visits were nice, food was good, service was good, atmosphere was nice, maybe rate them a 3.5. This visit, we brought friends that had never been, so dinner was our recommendation. Whoops, Salmon was over cooked with undercooked kale and portion was maybe 3oz. Beef Bourguignon was also overcooked and dry with little complexity of flavor. Our friends had scallops, smaller sized than previous visits, but "ok" flavor. Liquor drink prices were high, with a $20.00 scotch that was $12.00 earlier at a bar within walking distance. In summary, we will not return nor recommend Bistro Fou Fou, very disappointing! We had to apologize to our dinner companions for the poor dining experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank TCfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely to see & taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Knowlege experience & love of fresh foods. Great presentation and flavor.
Uncomparable menu selection.
The finer dining establishment in an area rich with great choices.
Romantic, great for special occasion

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GGFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Foufou also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Bistro Foufou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing