We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast!”
Review of The Towne Plaza

The Towne Plaza
Ranked #17 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Contemporary, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have only been here once but it was the best French toast and sausage we have ever had! Would definitely go back and try more!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    57
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dinner and back for Breakfast...Excellent!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stopped in to meet some friends this past weekend for an amazing Dinner at the Towne Plaza...Great Food and Great Service! Great selection of spirits for all of us to choose form. Have to say if you are looking for something downtown...make sure you stop in and trying something from the menu, I doubt you will go wrong on your selection. The scallops were very good as well as the Fish selection for the night.

Everything was so good we came back for Breakfast the next morning and enjoyed the same wonderful service as well as the great food. As you can see from the pictures at breakfast; the Punkin Pancakes were outstanding as well as the Steak Omelet and Eggs Benedict (Steak.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shall I say... Yumm.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Okay, so we took an unexpected weekend road trip to Traverse City, looking for some well priced gems to eat at and we stumbled on this restaurant because of a suggestion we received from chef Jennifer B. at the Cook's House restaurant (unfortunately we could not eat there because the waiting list was about 4-6 weeks out, we'll go back to that place next time). Getting back to the restaurant... The dining room is very cozy and inviting and the smell of the charcuterie is very noticeable. The menu was very approachable, with there being something for every appetite although not too extensive which works well for me. We were having a late breakfast, so let's call it brunch, I had the ?berry pancakes which were hands down the best pancakes I've ever tried, with maple syrup, 2 poached eggs w/ hollandaise and 4 strips of homemade bacon... I'm sick to my stomach that I live in Chicago and they are 5 1/2 hours away. My other friends enjoyed their own slice of heaven. One thing I appreciated was that all of the ingredients were fresh and from local places that we visited, it gave that communal vibe to things especially since we visited some of the places they purchase from. We are definitely looking forward to going back sooner than later.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous, laid-back dinner”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed two of TC's fine restaurants on our recent anniversary get-away, but only Towne Plaza gets a review. While the other spot, well-reviewed and worthy of a visit, was good, Towne Plaza exceeded our expectations. The dining room is just large enough to be buzzing, but small enough that you don't feel ignored around a corner. Our server, Cooper, was friendly and helpful with the unique menu that includes generous "tasting" portions as well as entrees and appetizers. Cooper didn't rush us as we ordered in stages, revisiting the menu and her recommendations with each course. We chose to pair beer with our meal rather than wine because of their wide selection of Michigan craft beers. Advice from Kevin at the bar directed us to some unique brews. The pork belly was magnificent, a little crispy on the outside while smooth and rich inside. The oysters were priced 50% less than the other restaurant and presented beautifully. Our other food choices were just as delicious. Prices were great, too. We will definitely be back on our next trip to TC.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Probably The Best Dinner On A Ten Day Trip”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pork, pork and more pork. But, plenty of alternatives. Small plates so many taste delights. The short rib ravioli, the pork confit and fish were all very good dishes and everything served hot by very gracious servers, especially Katherine. A credible wine list and good prices combined to make a very pleasant experience.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Towne Plaza also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Towne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing